Settlement Guide

Settlement Guide: 4 requirements of a regional sponsored migration scheme visa

Source: Getty Images

The Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme visa (subclass 187) is a permanent residence visa for skilled workers who want to work in regional Australia. This visa involves a two-step process, firstly, nomination by an approved Australian employer and then an application under the nominated stream. So, who is eligible?

1. You have to be nominated by an Australian employer for a job in regional Australia

Regional Australia does not include the Gold Coast, Brisbane, Newcastle, Sydney, Wollongong or Melbourne.

Regional jobs

2. You might be able to get this visa if you are younger than 50 years of age

Young migrant

3. You have to meet the skills, qualifications and English language requirements

Migrant workers

4. You need to apply under the stream for which you were nominated

The visa has three streams: Temporary Residence Transition stream, the Direct Entry stream and is the Agreement stream.

457 visa document

Find out more about the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme visa.

Visit the government’s website for general inquires on regional initiatives and search under your corresponding state or territory.