Danish director Nikolaj Arcel’s Oscar-nominated A Royal Affair was the odds-on favourite for the Robert Awards – the Danish Film Academy’s annual prizes – with nominations in 15 out of 16 cate...
Jorn Rossing Jensen

2 Mar 2013 - 8:01 AM  UPDATED 2 Mar 2013 - 8:01 AM

Danish director Nikolaj Arcel's Oscar-nominated A Royal Affairwas the odds-on favourite for the Robert Awards – the Danish Film Academy's annual prizes – with nominations in 15 out of 16 categories. But Tobias Lindholm's pirate thriller A Hijacking took the main trophy for Best Feature, and his lead Søren Malling won for Best Actor in front of ...Affair's Mads Mikkelsen. Among its five prizes was Best Original Screenplay.

Still Arcel left Copenhagen's Tivoli Hotel and Congress Centre last night with nine awards, including Best Director and Best Supporting Actor (for Mikkel Boe Følsgaard, who also received a Silver Bear in Berlin for his performance).

Best Actress went ex aequo to Trine Dyrholm (Susanne Bier's Love Is All You Need) and Bodil Jørgensen (Anne-Grethe Bjarup Riis' This Life) – it was Dyrholm's fifth Robert, since she also won for Best Supporting Actress (A Royal Affair). Danish 78-year-old actress Ghita Nørby, who has been in 141 films, was likewise presented with her fifth prize, the Honorary Robert.


Best Film
A Hijacking. Nordisk Film Production
Producers: Thomas Radoor and René Ezra / Directors: Tobias Lindholm
Best Film for Children and Young Audiences
You & Me Forever
Producers: Anders Toft Andersen / Director: Kaspar Munk
Best Actor
Søren Malling - A Hijacking
Best Actress(es)
Bodil Jørgensen - This Life / Trine Dyrholm - Love Is All You Need
Best Supporting Actor
Mikkel Boe Følsgaard - A Royal Affair
Best Supporting Actress
Trine Dyrholm - A Royal Affair
Best Director
Nikolaj Arcel - A Royal Affair
Best Original Screenplay
Tobias Lindholm - A Hijacking
Best Cinematography
Rasmus Videbæk - A Royal Affair
Best TV Series
The Killing (3). DR Fiktion - Mikkel Serup
Honorary Robert 2013
Danish actress Ghita Nørby
Best Documentary
The Act of Killing - Joshua Oppenheimer
Best US Feature
Argo - Ben Affleck
Best Non-US Feature
Amour - Michael Haneke
Audience Award (drama)
This Life - Anne-Grethe Bjarup Riis
Audience Award (comedy)
Love Is All You Need
Audience Award (for children and young audiences)
Max Embarrassing Goes to the Festival - Lotte Svendsen
Audience Award (TV series)
The Killing (3)
The Ib Tardini Prize
Danish producer Ronnie Fridthjof

Read more exclusive contents on cineuropa.org.