9 Apr 2014 - 3:26 PM  UPDATED 24 Feb 2015 - 10:27 AM

The nominees for the Australian Director's Guild awards have been announced, with Baz Luhrmann (The Great Gatsby), Kim Mordaunt (The Rocket), Ivan Sen (Mystery Road),  Jonathan Teplitzky (The Railway Man) and Zak Hilditch (These Final Hours) in the running for the coveted feature film director award.

The winners will be announced on Friday May 2 at the Powerhouse Museum in Sydney.

The Awards celebrate the work of Australian screen directors over the past year across 16 categories including film, television, multiplatform, music and advertising.

All six nominees in the Feature Documentary Category are women.   They are Sophia Turkiewicz for Once my Mother, Rebecca Barry for I Am A Girl, Heather Kirkpatrick for Mary Meets Mohammad, Juliet Lamont for Miss Nikki and the Tiger Girls, Lynn-Maree Milburn for In Bob We Trust and Kaye Harrison for The Sunnyboy.

Also to be announced at the ADG Awards is the 2014 recipient of the Finders Award.  The ADG, in partnership with the Directors Guild of America Finders series, selects one Australian feature film, which is yet to secure US distribution and is an entry in the 2014 ADG Awards, to screen in Los Angeles to key industry figures, including distributors. 

The complete 2014 ADG Awards nominees list:

Original Online Project:

One nominee, winner announced on the night


TV Commercial:

Glendyn Ivin – Nightmares

Ray Lawrence – NSW Teachers Federation: First Day

Ray Lawrence – NSW Teachers Federation: Last Day

Sean Meehan – Holden – Amnesia


Cross Platform Project:

One nominee, winner announced on the night


Music Video:

David Barker – Nightingale Floor

Melvin J. Montalban – The Best We Got


TV Comedy:

Daniel Nettheim – Mr and Mrs Murder – Series 1 Episode 5 "Lost Soul"

Matthew Saville – Please Like Me – Series 1 Episode 3 "Portuguese Custard Tarts"

Trent O’Donnell – The Elegant Gentleman's Guide to Knife Fighting – Episode 1


TV Drama Serial:

David Gould – Home & Away – Episode 5873

Geoffrey Nottage – Home & Away – Episode 5712

Geoffrey Nottage – Home & Away – Episode 5713

Howard Scott Hartford-Davis – Home & Away – Episode 5884


Short Film:

Alex Ryan – Ngurrumbang

Josh Tanner – The Landing

Julietta Boscolo – Sam’s Gold

Sean Kruck – Snowblind


Student Film:

Erin Good – The Wonderful

Lucy Gaffy – The Fence

Melissa Anastasi – By This River

Warwick Young – Stuffed


TV Children’s:

Craig James Irvin – Nowhere Boys – Series 1 Episode 8

Daniel Nettheim – Dance Academy – Series 3 Episode 12 "A Perfect Storm"

Peter Carstairs – Nowhere Boys – Series 1 Episode 7


Finders Award:

Winner announced on the night. 


TV Mini Series:

Daina Reid – Paper Giants: Magazine Wars – Part 1

Geoff Bennett – The Packer-Murdoch Story – Episode 1

Khoa Do – Better Man – Episode 4


TV Drama Series:

Adrian Russell-Wills – Redfern Now – Series 2 Episode 1 "Where the Heart Is"

Glendyn Ivin – Puberty Blues – Series 1 Episode 6

Kevin Carlin – Wentworth – Series 1 Episode 1

Peter Duncan – Rake – Series 2 Episode 2

Rachel Perkins - Redfern Now – Series 2 Episode 2 "Starting Over"

Tori Garrett – The Time of our Lives – Series 1 Episode 5


Documentary Series:

Bentley Dean/Martin Butler – First Footprints – Episode 1

Gary Doust – Next Stop Hollywood

Nick Robinson – Kakadu – Episode 4


Documentary Stand-Alone:

Corrie Chen – Suicide & Me

John Hughes – Love & Fury

Madeleine Hetherton – The Surgery Ship



Rachel Ward – An Accidental Soldier

Rowan Woods – The Broken Shore


Documentary Feature:

Heather Kirkpatrick – Mary Meets Mohammad

Juliet Lamont – Miss Nikki and the Tiger Girls

Kaye Harrison – The Sunnyboy

Lynn-Maree Milburn – In Bob We Trust

Rebecca Barry – I Am A Girl

Sophia Turkiewicz – Once my Mother


Feature Film:

Baz Luhrmann – The Great Gatsby

Ivan Sen – Mystery Road

Jonathan Teplitzky – The Railway Man

Kim Mordaunt – The Rocket

Zak Hilditch – These Final Hours