After being snubbed by Oscars voters, Todd Haynes' glamourous romance has found love with LGBT critics.

19 Jan 2016 - 4:32 PM  UPDATED 19 Jan 2016 - 4:32 PM

Todd Haynes' Carol, which missed out on key nominations for best picture and best director from the Academy last week, swept the Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association's top categories, the org announced Monday. The film won top honours for film of the year and received gongs for director Haynes, lead actress Cate Blanchett and screenplay.

Haynes also took the Wilde Artist of the Year Award (named for the group's "patron saint," Oscar Wilde), while the film was named LGBTQ Film of the Year as well. Leonardo DiCaprio won the lead actor prize for his performance in The Revenant.

On the television side, Fargo and Orange is the New Black tied for the drama series award, while Transparent won a trio, for best comedy series, comedy actor (Jeffrey Tambor) and LGBTQ show of the year.


Full list of winners below.

Film of the Year

Director of the Year
Todd Haynes, Carol

Film Actor of the Year
Leonardo Dicaprio, The Revenant

Film Actress of the Year
Cate Blanchett, Carol

LGBTQ Film of the Year

Foreign Language Film of the Year
Son of Saul

Screenplay of the Year

Documentary of the Year

Visually Striking Film of the Year
Mad Max: Fury Road

Unsung Film of the Year

Tangerine - Sean Baker interview
In Sydney for the Australian premiere of Tangerine, director Sean Baker talks about his love of collaborating on subjects unfamiliar to him, such as his story of L.A. transgender sex workers.

Campy Flick of the Year
Magic Mike XXL

TV Drama of the Year (TIE)
Fargo & Orange is the New Black

TV Comedy of the Year

TV Actor of the Year
Jeffrey Tambor, Transparent

TV Actress of the Year
Taraji P. Henson, Empire

LGBTQ Show of the Year

Unsung TV Show of the Year

TV Current Affairs Show of the Year
Last Week Tonight With John Oliver

Campy TV Show of the Year

TV Musical Performance of the Year
Aretha Franklin

The 'We're Wilde About You' Rising Star Award
Alicia Vikander

Wilde Wit of the Year
Amy Schumer

Wilde Artist of the Year
Todd Haynes

Timeless Award
Jane Fonda (previously announced)

SBS On Demand: Bowie moments
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.


Read more of the latest SBS Movies news