Enter the draw to win the chance to see this film in cinemas.
23 May 2017 - 4:53 PM  UPDATED 25 May 2017 - 4:36 PM

SBS and Transmission Films proudly present Viceroy’s House, based on the true story of the final months of British rule in India – starring Gillian Anderson, Michael Gambon and Hugh Bonneville.

Viceroy’s House in Delhi was the home of the British rulers in India. After 300 years, that rule was coming to an end and for 6 months in 1947, Lord Mountbatten, great grandson of Queen Victoria assumed the post of last viceroy. He was charged with handing India back to its people.

The film’s story unfolds within that great house. Upstairs lived Mountbatten together with his wife and daughter; downstairs lived their 500 Hindu, Muslim and Sikh servants. As the political elite 0 Nehru, Jinnah and Ghandi – converged on the house to wrangle over the birth of independent India, conflict erupted. A decision was taken to divide the country and create a new Muslim homeland: Pakistan.

“Stunning …epic” – Reader’s Digest
“Compelling, powerful and undeniably heartfelt” – Ian Freer, Empire

Watch the trailer:


“No one wants to talk about Partition”: A chat with Gurinder Chadha
The director talks about her new film ‘Viceroy’s House’, the difficulty in casting people of colour and the chances of a ‘Bend It Like Beckham’ sequel.

To celebrate the theatrical release we're giving away 20 double passes to see the film for use at participating cinemas around Australia. Simply enter your details here for your chance to win.

This competition has now closed. Congratulations to all of our winners:

Sophie Gotsis WA
Gerald Cheung VIC
Peter Dunphy NSW
Rachelle Ekevall QLD
Steven Liang VIC
Bryan Scruby SA
Duane Van Schoonhoven SA
Lisa Ferlazzo VIC
Kelsey Scherger VIC
Jon Furber NSW
Andrew Whalan NSW
Diana Sarelius NSW
Andrew Dimopoulos SA
Leonie Howard QLD
Barbara Rohde SA
Fiona Raw VIC
Lucy Louca VIC
Ajdin Fergus ACT
Linda Jaksic VIC
Michelle Marsiglia VIC

Competition opens: Wednesday 24 May 2017 at 10:00am (AEST)
Competition closes: Thursday 25 May 2017 at 11:00am (AEST)
Competition drawn: Thursday 25 May 2017 at 1:00pm (AEST)

Winners will be published at www/sbs.com.au/movies no later than 30 days of the prize draw following each competition.

Full terms and conditions apply

Authorised under NSW Permit No. LTPM/17/01532 Class: Type C; ACT Permit No. TP TP17/00344. Promotions under these terms and conditions will commence on 6/3/2017 and finish on 30/11/2017.

Follow us on Facebook to find out about upcoming giveaways

Browse all mvoies at SBS On Demand