To celebrate the upcoming release of DETROIT on Thursday 9 November, SBS and eOne are giving you the opportunity to win one of 50 double passes to see the movie!
5 Nov 2017 - 10:03 AM  UPDATED 9 Nov 2017 - 2:16 PM

In the summer of 1967, racial discrimination in Detroit reached breaking point and the city erupted into one of the largest citizen uprisings in US history. From Academy Award winning director Kathryn Bigelow (Zero Dark Thirty, The Hurt Locker), Detroit zeroes in on one pivotal event during the civil unrest – the Algiers Motel Incident – a motel raid which spiralled out of control as police interrogated guests, ending in tragedy. A brilliant ensemble cast including John Boyega (Star Wars) and Anthony Mackie (The Hurt Locker, Captain America) portray the real-life people before, during and after this defining moment in their lives. This gripping, intimate film is essential viewing – an urgent, masterful recreation of history with heartbreaking parallels to the present


★★★★★ “Electrifying. Easily among the most essential films of the year.” Time Out (New York)


 “Extraordinary...  Will Poulter is outstanding... Anthony Mackie is captivating.” New York Daily News


“Stunning” “Destined for the Oscar race.” USA Today


“A drama as powerful as it is timely... Bigelow has created a turbulent, live-wire panorama of race in America that feels like it’s all unfolding in the moment.” Variety


“A hardcore masterpiece. Raw and riveting. It has the adrenaline punch of a thriller and the deep-seated sorrow that comes with watching history repeat itself.” Rolling Stone


To check participating cinemas and to view the official trailer, click here.


Competition opens: Sunday 5th November 10:00am (AEDT)

Competition closes:  Wednesday 8th November 11:59pm (AEDT)

Competition drawn: Thursday 9th November 10:00am (AEDT)


Congratulations to our winners:

I. Lord, 3340
P. Bradbrook, 2486
D. Lawrence, 3175
L. Byfield, 6053
H. Choo, 6148
A. Kemp, 2516
J. King, 3067
H. Lupprian, 3142
R. Ryan, 3000
M. Mends, 4060
M. Maloney, 2049
D. Joseph, 2030
M. Mckenna, 2903
M. Rowson, 3131
M. Tyacke, 2031
F. Stanghieri, 2196
K. Schluter, 6014
V. Sharpe, 3104
A. Lourie, 3185
D. Clarkson, 3165
M. Sullivan, 3161
R. Tan, 2170
J. Morgan, 2428
J. Porter, 6025
A. Rainford, 6152
D. Juliff, 6025
I. Gardner, 3153
M. Chivilo, 3192
S. Trakarnkitti, 2016
A. Koutsamanis, 2032
C. Mennell, 2065
G. Hughes, 3105
C. Tan, 2126
P. Riani, 2115
M. Johns, 5125
H. Greisz, 6010
Y. Hijioka, 5084
S. Moriarty, 5034
C. Dixon, 3196
N. Mokak, 6108
S. Matheos, 3121
J. Mckinley, 3195
M. Borg, 2148
M. Vos, 3178
J. Kahle, 3754
A. Djuga, 3025
B. Begg, 2075
M. Pass, 4565
A. Muratovski, 3825
V. Nguyen, 5085

Winners will be notified by email. Read the full terms and conditions here.

Authorised under NSW Permit No. LTPM/17/01532 Class: Type C; ACT Permit No. TP TP17/00344. Promotions under these terms and conditions will commence on 6/3/2017 and finish on 30/11/2017.