To celebrate the upcoming release of THE SECRET SCRIPTURE on Thursday 7th December, SBS and Transmission Films are giving you the opportunity to win one of 50 double passes to see the movie!
3 Dec 2017 - 10:03 AM  UPDATED 7 Dec 2017 - 4:57 PM

Six-time Academy Award© nominee and acclaimed writer-director Jim Sheridan returns to Irish themes and settings with The Secret Scripture, a feature film based on Sebastian Barry’s Man Booker Prize-winning novel and featuring a stellar international cast including Rooney Mara, Vanessa Redgrave, Jack Reynor, Theo James and Eric Bana. Demonstrating Sheridan’s trademark skill with actors, his profound sense of story, and depth of feeling for Irish social history, The Secret Scripture marks a return to personal themes for the writer-director as well as a reunion with producer Noel Pearson, almost a quarter of a century after their breakout success with My Left Foot.

Lady Rose (Redgrave) is an elderly woman who has lived in a hospital for over 50 years. Despite her bleak surroundings there is a light in her eyes that cannot be extinguished. Dr. Stephen Grene (Bana) is drawn to her, compelled to discover her past and help gain her freedom. Through Lady Rose’s ‘scripture’, a life of extraordinary love and great injustice emerges, revealing a remarkable young woman of courage, whose only crime was to fall in love. Set against a backdrop of troubled times locally, and chaos internationally, we learn of her ultimate triumph.


"Beautifully directed, profoundly romantic" - The Hollywood Reporter

"Elegantly crafted, expertly acted" - Screen International

Official Selection: Toronto International Film Festival 2016, BFI London Film Festival 2016


To check participating cinemas, click here.


Competition opens: Sunday 3th December 10:00am (AEDT)

Competition closes:  Wednesday 6th December 11:59pm (AEDT)

Competition drawn: Thursday 7th December 10:00am (AEDT)


Congratulations to our winners:

P. Digance, 5093
T. Pollard, 3178
K. Mcleod, 3033
J. Coxhead, 3131
C. Donald, 3767
L. Glasgow, 4035
P. Congdon, 3150
R. Mckellar-harding, 3207
G. Raynor, 2095
A. Kendal, 2604
B. Stevens, 4109
T. Howard, 7249
C. Nugent, 6849
J. Kojo, 5108
S. Richardson, 2125
D. Kekwick, 2257
I. Chuah, 7005
J. Virtue, 3153
K. Albinson, 3056
K. Suhalim, 6107
T. Walker, 6163
A. Donohue, 2227
A. Bird, 4306
L. Piccinno, 3016
A. Enno, 3082
J. Kavanagh, 2095
E. Murch-lempinen, 5008
V. Wilson, 6160
J. Summers, 2039
J. Mcguire, 4066
P. Haidinger, 2122
E. Kuhaupt, 6007
K. Pruessner, 3096
S. Wong, 5065
M. Martens, 3977
J. Vandenhurk, 3212
S. Mete, 4882
I. Murphy, 4053
H. Bertuna, 3804


Winners will be notified by email. Read the full terms and conditions here.

Authorised under NSW Permit No LTPM/17/02573 Class: Type C; ACT Permit No. TP TP17/02494.