To celebrate the upcoming release of SWEET COUNTRY on Thursday, January 25th, SBS and Transmission Films are giving you the opportunity to win one of 50 double passes to see the movie!
15 Jan 2018 - 10:50 AM  UPDATED 18 Jan 2018 - 5:29 PM

Competition now closed


Inspired by real events, Sweet Country is a period western set in 1929 in the outback of the Northern Territory, Australia. When Aboriginal stockman Sam (Hamilton Morris) kills white station owner Harry March (Ewen Leslie) in self-defence, Sam and his wife Lizzie (Natassia Gorey-Furber) go on the run. They are pursued across the outback, through glorious but harsh desert country.

Sergeant Fletcher (Bryan Brown) leads the posse with the help of Aboriginal tracker Archie (Gibson John) and local landowners Fred Smith (Sam Neill) and Mick Kennedy (Thomas M. Wright). Fletcher is desperate to capture Sam and put him on trial for murder – but Sam is an expert bushman and he has little difficulty outlasting them. Eventually, for the health of his pregnant wife, Sam decides to give himself up. He is put on trial in the courtroom of Judge Taylor (Matt Day). But will justice be served?


★★★★★ “A new Australian classic.” - The Globe and Mail

★★★★★ “Fiercely powerful. Superbly shot.” - The Guardian

“A milestone for Australian indigenous cinema.” - Screen Daily

“Masterful. Sweet Country may well be the best Australian film of the year.” - Filmink


SPECIAL JURY PRIZE – Venice Film Festival

PLATFORM PRIZE – Toronto International Film Festival

BEST FEATURE FILM – Asia Pacific Screen Awards

BEST FEATURE FICTION – Adelaide Film Festival Audience Awards


To check participating cinemas and to view the official trailer, click here


Competition opens: Sunday 14th January 10:00am (AEDT)

Competition closes:  Wednesday 17th January 11:59pm (AEDT)

Competition drawn: Thursday 18th January 10:00am (AEDT)


Congratulations to our winners:

K. Fraser, 3111
T. Raneri, 3105
K. Gilligan, 2090
P. Ibarra, 6151
M. Nguyen, 2193
J. Strickland, 4350
B. Pawlasty, 4301
E. Yik, 6168
S. Mercovich, 6164
S. Lariat, 6065
A. Mckenna, 2903
J. Pembroke, 2281
C. Ingram, 3044
C. Caruana, 3030
G. Flaskas, 3072
N. Hanham, 4011
J. Jesser, 2093
M. Stewart, 2131
G. Morea, 6158
J. Stanton, 4031
D. Kinmonth, 4503
C. Buchanan, 3056
N. Chappell, 3441
H. Green, 5072
F. Makin, 3444
L. Costantino, 2217
R. Charles, 5086
S. Gibson, 3046
B. Bell, 4210
G. Rowley, 5073
C. Eden, 3147
S. Jenner, 3146
K. Storer, 2232
C. Darmanin, 3044
A. Wong, 4123
M. Blackmore, 4059
C. Robson, 5092
S. Lokollo, 2508
L. Mills, 4075
A. Rodda-meijer, 3020
G. Lee, 4059
V. Mezzatesta, 3788
J. Hoong, 2118
D. Walpole, 6210
J. Franze, 5062
S. Nikadie, 3128
M. Whittle, 6210
P. Swift, 7000
J. Tiedemann, 3133
S. Smith, 2007


Winners will be notified by email. Read the full terms and conditions here.

Authorised under NSW Permit No LTPM/17/02573 Class: Type C; ACT Permit No. TP TP17/02494. Promotions under these terms and conditions will commence on 1/12/2017 and finish on 15/08/2018