Advisory group named for redress scheme

The federal government has named its 15-member advisory council for the national redress scheme for survivors of institutional child sexual abuse.

A former West Australian attorney-general will head the federal government's advisory group for a national redress scheme for child sexual abuse victims.

Cheryl Edwardes is among 15 members named on Friday, alongside former Labor minister Gary Johns and recently ousted Liberal senator Helen Kroger.

Representatives from Uniting Care Queensland, Care Leavers Australia Network and Catholic Church's Truth Justice and Healing Council are also in the group.

The Catholic council's CEO Francis Sullivan said the decision to establish the scheme was an important step forward in achieving justice and compassion for survivors.

"Today's announcement signals the start of what will be a very intense time," Mr Sullivan said.

"There is now enormous pressure on the government to get a national scheme up and running as soon as possible while at the same time trying to bring on board all state governments and institutions.

"The Catholic Church is on the record saying it will be part of the scheme which must be designed to deliver fair and equitable redress to survivors regardless of when or where they were abused."

Source: AAP

Stay up to date with SBS NEWS

  • App
  • Subscribe
  • Follow
  • Listen
  • Watch