Spurs' NBA trophy coming to Australia


The San Antonio Spurs will bring their NBA championship trophy to Australia as part of a global tour, in honour of stars Patty Mills and Aron Baynes.

Patty Mills and Aron Baynes are set to bring their newly acquired NBA championship trophy to Australia.

The duo's San Antonio Spurs on Thursday announced a global tour of the Larry O'Brien Trophy to help celebrate last month's finals triumph over the Miami Heat.

Team members will take the iconic award to their hometowns, covering 12 cities in six countries.

The tour begins on Friday (AEST) in Argentina, home of superstar guard Manu Ginobili, who played a central role in getting the Spurs their fifth title.

It will continue with stops in Australia, Italy, France and Canada, as well as US cities New Hampshire, New York and California.

"This tour gives our organisation an opportunity to celebrate our diverse roster and thank the NBA's loyal fan support from around the globe," Spurs general manager RC Buford said.

"For the first time in Spurs history, our players will be able to bring a unique part of the championship experience to their family, friends and fans."

Mills and Baynes are just the third and fourth Australians to have won a NBA title, following Luc Longley's success with the Chicago Bulls (1996-98) and former Spurs star Andrew Gaze in 1999.

Stay up to date with SBS NEWS

  • App
  • Subscribe
  • Follow
  • Listen
  • Watch