Two seats remain close in election count

The Australian Electoral Commission lists only two seats as close as it continues to declare the final results in federal electorates.

Scott Morrison remains on track to hold 77 lower house seats in the new parliament, as counting continues following the May 18 election.

Only two seats remain close - Tasmania's Bass and Macquarie in NSW.

Labor is expected to have 68 seats, down one on the previous election, with six crossbenchers making up the 151-member House of Representatives.

In Macquarie, Labor candidate Susan Templeman is 282 votes ahead of her Liberal rival Sarah Richards.

In the Tasmanian seat of Bass, the Liberals' Bridget Archer is 584 votes ahead of Labor MP Ross Hart.

The Australian Electoral Commission has formally declared the results in eight seats: Bennelong, Berowra, Blaxland, Dickson, Gippsland, Mitchell, New England, Riverina and Warringah.

On Friday it intends to declare the results in: Jagajaga, Corio, Fowler, Franklin, Braddon, Scullin, Solomon, Lingiari, Banks, Bendigo, Petrie, Bradfield, Fenner, Groom, Rankin, Chifley, Ballarat, Bruce, Longman and Maranoa.

Stay up to date with SBS NEWS

  • App
  • Subscribe
  • Follow
  • Listen
  • Watch