• Malarndirri McCarthy. (Supplied)Source: Supplied
Malarndirri McCarthy, Marion Scrymgour and Ursula Raymond all consider nominating for Nova Peris’ vacant seat.
Myles Morgan

The Point
25 May 2016 - 4:16 PM  UPDATED 25 May 2016 - 4:23 PM

The Labor Party will decide on Nova Peris’ replacement in the Senate within days. 

Her former chief-of-staff, Ursula Raymond, has told media she is considering whether she will volunteer herself as a candidate in her boss’ place.

Former Northern Territory Government minister and former NITV journalist Malarndirri McCarthy has confirmed she is nominating for the spot left open by Nova Peris’ sudden resignation.

“I will be a fierce advocate for the territory and Indigenous Australians in a Shorten Labor government,” she told NITV in a statement last night.

Malarndirri McCarthy to nominate for Nova Peris' Senate seat
Former NITV journalist and Yanyuwa woman Malarndirri McCarthy has announced she will nominate for Labor’s Northern Territory Senate seat.

NITV understands Marion Scrymgour, another former NT Government minister, will also make a decision on whether she should run in the next 24 hours.

“The party's got rules in an election period on how to pick candidates and there's less than six weeks until the election,” Opposition Leader Bill Shorten said in Melbourne on Wednesday

“We'll consult; the party will get this process right.”

The Labor Party executive is yet to officially open nominations for Ms Peris’ seat, let alone endorse a candidate. But, it says it will try to make a decision within days with the blessing of the NT branch of the party.

Given the Northern Territory’s voting history, Labor’s number one candidate for the Senate will almost certainly be elected.

NT local Pat Honan still occupies the number two spot on Labor’s Senate ticket.

The Labor Senate candidates will run against the Country Liberals’ Nigel Scullion and Jenni Lillis.