There are so many of our deadly artists, both emerging and established, experimenting across genres, spitting heavy hitting rhymes and killing it daily. Sovereign Trax curates monthly playlists of fresh new music from mob, focusing on self-publishing platforms used by independent artists that might not get exposure in mainstream ways. Pushing forward the consumption of our own music, Sovereign Trax aims to inspire an environment that speaks to our collective stories, identities and resistance.
Hannah Donnelly

30 Jun 2016 - 1:40 PM  UPDATED 30 Jun 2016 - 4:06 PM

Up first on the Sovereign Trax mix is one of the most exciting collabs this year between two femme brothers called Electric Fields. Electric Fields is all about pushing the boundaries of traditional and electronic music. You might remember Zaachariaha Fielding as half of the successful duo ZK from The Voice. Especially that part where Will I Am was like how you fellas turn up in remote communities and Zaachariaha was like Corroboree ay. Now Zaachariaha is collaborating with Michael Ross and listening to their music is like falling to another dimension with no gender barriers. Their music mixes Anangu language with electronic soul samples and drums. Pukulpa means happy to the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara people. Word on the mish is that Electric Feilds have an EP coming through soon.

Wizz, one half of the duo Stik n Move, has kicked of 2016 releasing some powerful solo efforts and his latest offering ‘Game of Life’ reps Ngunnawal country Queanbeyan and the everyday life, love and struggles of a blackfella.  Another talented brother on the mix is Elijah the Profit (E.T.P) born and bred in Cairns with connections to the Torres Straits, Badu and Hammond Islands. Elijah is part of the Red Eye Balaz crew. This month E.T.P dropped his full mixtape Not 4 Profit on band camp which you can grab online for free.

Since recently recording with CAMAA Music as part of the Alukura (women) Project some of the tiddas have been releasing some great singles featured on this mix. Punk pop songstress Dora Smith from Broome and Yuwalaaraay, Gamilaroi and Murrawarri acoustic folk singer Kelsey Iris have some guitar heavy tracks on this month’s playlist. The Alukura Compilation is full of matriarchal tunes from the tiddas and you can get it online. The playlist finishes off with Darwin singer-songwriter Leah Flanagan’s latest single Chills and she’s just announced her national tour.

There’s so much more talent on the mix so listen and share.

Track List

1. Electric Feilds - Pukulpa
2. Robbie Miller Music - Road
3. George Musu - Biniw Maza Ngu
4. Wizz - Game Of Life
5. Task Em Cee - Blackened Mind
6. Bec Gollan Band - Stare Me Down
7. Eskatology - her Majesty
8. Elijah The Profit - T.R.U.T.H.H
9. Ghetto Balaz x Indo Clanzo - C.N.S Finest
10. Mission House Boiiz - Destination Unkown ft. TRAP Squad
11. Seeka Music - Lights On Lights Out
12. Bala Jay - Kill Em
13. Jupiter Haze - You Wanna Know
14. Kyle Shilling - & Years Old
15. Paul Gorrie - I'm A Loser//All A Dream
16. Reality Records - Zelda Remix
17. Dora Smith - Let Love Find You
18. Kelsey Iris - Opal Steet
19. Nathan May - Caught Up In Waves
20. Leah Flanagan - Chills