• Hip Hop star Baker Boy will take the stage at the 15th Annual National Indigenous Music Awards which is celebrating excellence and achievement in music (Supplied)Source: Supplied
The 2018 National Indigenous Music Awards (NIMAs) have announced a stellar line-up to mark its 15 years of acknowledging the best Indigenous music talent from across the country.
Emily Nicol

9 Jul 2018 - 4:09 PM  UPDATED 9 Jul 2018 - 4:09 PM

This year the NIMA's will once again take over the iconic Darwin Amphitheatre on Saturday 11 August to recognise Indigenous excellent. Performances from some of the hottest musical acts include Yolngu rapper Baker Boy, indie duo Busby Marou and special guest country star, Kasey Chambers. The night will also host the triple j Unearthed Indigenous winner for 2018 with a live performance from the winner. 

Due to the need for more recognition for Indigenous artists that was not coming from mainstream media, the NIMAs were established in 2004 as the NT Indigenous Music Awards. However, its popularity gained momentum and led the awards to a national platform in 2012.

Over the years the awards have seen early performances from new talent such as  Baker Boy, Thelma Plum and Robbie Miller as well as moving tributes to Gurrumul and Yothu Yindi as well as Hall of Fame recognition for the likes of Kutcha Edwards, Vic Simms, Seaman Dan, Archie Roach, Jimmy Little and many more.

This year has been a hugely successful one for Indigenous artists with number #1 albums, (including the final album Djarramirri by Dr G), national tours, Eurovision appearances, Hottest 100 placements and those who have played in dozens of festivals across the country.

“The growth in the National Indigenous Music Awards has mirrored the growth of Indigenous music more generally over the last fifteen years,” said NIMA Reference Group Chair Warren H. Williams.

“As our musicians have continued their journey of taking their rightful place at the forefront of Australian music, the awards have been there not just to celebrate their successes, but to be a launching pad for new talent and discovery vehicle for musicians, whether they are from Darwin, Devonport, Derby, Dubbo or the Daintree.” 

The NIMA's have launched a special Spotify playlist of this years finalists, stream here and check out the nominees below.

Album of the Year:
Dan Sultan - Killer

Emily Wurramara – Milyakburra

Gurrumul Djarimirri (Child of the Rainbow)

Kardajala Kirridarra –Kardajala Kirridarra

Kuren – Melting Conceptually 


Best New Talent (Presented by Spotify):
Alice Skye

Baker Boy

Emily Wurramara


Ziggy Ramo 


Song of the Year:

Baker Boy – Marryuna
Busby Marou – Days of Gold
Dan Sultan - Kingdom
Gurrumul – Djarimirri (Child of the Rainbow)
Kardajala Kirridarra - Ngurra 


Film Clip of the Year:

Alice Skye – Friends With Feelings
Baker Boy – Marryuna
Birdz – This Side
Black Rock Band – Bininj Kuborrk
Jessica Mauboy – We Got Love


Artist of the Year:

A.B. Original

Archie Roach

 Electric Fields


Jessica Mauboy

Community Clip of the Year:

Ali Curung NT – Bounce With Me

B-Town Warriors – Thundercloud: Bourke

Condobolin, NSW: The Condo Crew – How Ya Feelin

Githabul Next Generation – Looking Out For Country

Mulli Mulli

Yiyili Mawoolie – Yiyili Kids