• (L-R) 2018 Dreamtime Awards finalists: Mojo Juju, Latrell Mitchell and Grant Hansen. (NITV)Source: NITV
Influential celebrities including Mojo Juju, Latrell Mitchell and Grant Hansen could take home wins at Australia's newest Indigenous awards celebration this Friday.
NITV Staff Writers

13 Nov 2018 - 1:49 PM  UPDATED 13 Nov 2018 - 1:57 PM

Dubbed the ‘new Deadlys’, the National Dreamtime Awards are back for a second year.

Since the event’s inaugural ceremony in 2017, this year will continue to recognise First Nations Australians in various categories; from sport and arts, to community and education.

Since the historic Deadly Awards’ cessation in 2013, the National Dreamtime Awards was launched to maintain honoring the years' Indigenous Australian achievement and contributions.

While we see the Indigenous community celebrated annually with the prestigious NAIDOC Awards, the newly established Dreamtime Awards sets itself apart by involving both, government and private sectors who sponsor each awards category. While awarding groups and individuals, the event simultaneously showcases various organisations— such as, Yarnteen College, Winanga-Li and Quit B Fit —whose work supports Indigenous people to achieve excellence.

The Awards also have a strong focus on arts and entertainment, with accolades in acting, music and media, as well as evening performances by high profile artists. This year, confirmed headline acts include Archie Roach, Christine Anu and Baker Boy.

Individuals and groups are nominated by the public via. online and then narrowed down to four finalists by the event organisers. A judging panel is then to determine the winner of each category.

Last years’ winners included Stan Grant (Media Person of the Year), Josh Addo-Carr (Best New Sports Talent of the Year), Shari Sebbens (Female Actor of the Year) and Clinton Pryor, the activist who walked 5500km from Perth to Canberra to deliver a message of Aboriginal justice to the Prime Minister took the top award, Dreamtime Person of the Year. 


The 2018 Dreamtime Awards finalists are:


Major awards including, Dreamtime Person of the Year, Dreamtime Elder of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Award will also be presented on the evening.

NITV will stream via. Facebook Live the The National Dream Awards red carpet, hosted by Lowanna Grant and Matty Webb on Friday, 16 November at 5.30pm. Join the conversation #DreamtimeAwards.