• Yothu Yindi closes out the 'East Arnhem Live' streaming concert series (Supplied)Source: Supplied
Filmed at sunset from the beach at Banubanu, Yothu Yindi will perform a set of their much loved songs for the finale of the 'East Arnhem Live' streaming concert series.
By
Emily Nicol

20 Jun 2020 - 4:50 PM  UPDATED 20 Jun 2020 - 4:50 PM

In response to the Covid-19 travel restrictions, the East Arnhem Land arts community has been showcasing some of it's best musical talent and creating an opportunity to experience Yolŋu culture from home.

Via live streaming concerts, since April audiences world-wide have been able to see artists such as Yirrnga Yunupingu, The Andrew Gurruwiwi Band, Yirrmal Marika andthe  Rirratjiŋu clan in a special traditional ceremonial dance or buŋgul.

Using drone cameras, the visually stunning and transportive production will be live streaming the finale to the series this Saturday 20th June,  featuring a performance from Yothu Yindi performing their most popular songs. 

Presented by Yolŋu Radio and supported by the Rirratjingu Aboriginal Corporation and Developing East Arnhem Limited. Through 'East Arnhem Live', the series has helped to employ local artists and support them during a time when travel restrictions mean gigs are cancelled and tourists have been unable to visit. The hope is that the series also supports 'maintaining and sharing culture during this unprecedented time.'

The series has been broadcast around the country via various Aboriginal organisations including NITV, and the entire series can be seen here.

Performances are posted via live stream to the East Arnhem Land Facebook page each Saturday at 6.30pm ACST (Darwin) / 7.00pm (AEST) Melbourne/Sydney/Brisbane / 5.00pm (AWST) Perth