• Queensland players celebrate during game three of the State of Origin series between the Maroons and the New South Wales Blues at Suncorp Stadium. (Getty Images)Source: Getty Images
Queensland have stayed loyal with their State of Origin side, sticking solid to those players who did the job in 2015.
Adam Santarossa

24 May 2016 - 4:08 PM  UPDATED 24 May 2016 - 4:08 PM

 Brisbane newspaper The Courier Mail has leaked the Queensland Origin team hours before the official announcement on Tuesday evening.

Players have already arrived in camp in the past 24 hours, meaning the highly secretive squad is already well known, despite it still yet being officially announced by the Queensland Rugby League.

It’s believed new Queensland Origin coach Kevin Walters has decided to stay loyal to those players who took back the series shield in 2015.


There are some changes that have been forced upon the Maroons, with Justin Hodges retiring from the game and Will Chambers out with injury.

Two debutants are brought in to fill the vacant places in the backline with Brisbane Broncos flyer Corey Oates coming onto the wing and North Queensland Cowboy Justin O’Neill coming into Hodges centre position.

Selectors opted to remain loyal to Newcastle Knights fullback Dane Gagai, who retains his position on the wing, after debuting in the third game of last year’s series.

Cowboys’ winger Kyle Feldt was said to be close to selection, but with two debutants already in the backline, selectors opted for Gagai.

Another who can consider himself lucky to win selection is Manly forward Nate Myles.

Myles has struggled for form since joining the Sea Eagles this season, but his past performances has seen his win selection in a competitive forward pack.  

The strength of the Queensland side is shown in their interchange, with four current Australian Internationals listed, in Michael Morgan, Sam Thaiday, Josh Papalii and Josh McGuire.  

Jacob Lillyman is the only incumbent not to retain his place.

The League Nation Live team will discuss both the New South Wales and Queensland Origin sides, with Origin legend Wally Lewis a special guest.

Queensland Origin side –

  1. Darius Boyd
  2. Corey Oates
  3. Greg Inglis
  4. Justin O’Neill
  5. Dane Gagai
  6. Johnathan Thurston
  7. Cooper Cronk
  8. Matt Scott
  9. Cameron Smith ©
  10. Nate Myles
  11. Aidan Guerra
  12. Matt Gillett
  13. Corey Parker
  14. Michael Morgan
  15. Sam Thaiday
  16. Josh Papalii
  17. Josh McGuire

Gallery: League Nation Live Episode 10
Check out all the behind the scenes pictures from Episode 10 of League Nation Live.
WATCH: League Nation Live Episode 12
Retired Broncos captain Justin Hodges and Logie nominee actor Aaron Fa’Aoso will lead a cast of league fanatics as NITV scores the newest and hottest NRL entertainment footy show, League Nation Live. (An NITV Production) (Sport) (Entertainment)

Watch League Nation Live tonight from 7.30pm on NITV - it's live and deadly!