• The best players of the tournament: Samuel Doggett.and Roxsanne Van Veen. (NITV News)Source: NITV News
The National Indigenous Cricket Championships in Alice Springs names it star performers as the tournament draws to a close for 2016.
Natalie Ahmat

15 Feb 2016 - 1:42 PM  UPDATED 17 Feb 2016 - 2:50 PM

New South Wales players Samuel Doggett and Roxsanne Van Veen have been named the Players of the Tournament at the National Indigenous Cricket Championships in Alice Springs.

Worimi man, Samuel Doggett was named best in the men's division after taking 11 wickets at the tournament, including four for 15 in the Blueys game against South Australia.

He also proved handy with the bat, racking up 92 runs across the tournament.

But injury meant the 24 year old nearly didn't make it to Alice Springs.

"The tournaments gone really well for me personally, I tore my pec eight weeks ago playing cricket in Sydney and just made it back on time," he said.

2016 is the third time Samuel has played in the Championships (formerly known as the Imparja Cup), but only his second representing New South Wales.  

The Toowoomba product previously played for Queensland, before moving to Sydney for work.

"Sydney's a little bit bigger than Toowoomba but I certainly learned a lot playing cricket in Toowoomba at Souths," he said.

"They taught me a lot to get down here, hard country cricket, which certainly has helped me in Sydney."

Meanwhile, 29 year old Gundungarra woman, Roxsanne Van Veen took home the award for female player of the Championships.

It follows a fabulous tournament which saw her make 88 runs and take ten wickets, including an impressive four for 10 in the match against Western Australia.

Both players were also named in their respective Teams of the Championships, chosen by a panel of Cricket Australia representatives.

The "Black Caps" are presented to players whose skill, talent and execution stood out during the course of the Championships.

The Women's Black Caps Team of the Championships:

Carmella Gray - NT
Sally Moylan - NT
Ashleigh Gardner - NSW
Samara Williams - WA
Carly Fuller - QLD
Jacinta Goodger-Chandler - VIC
Emily Bowden - WA
Roxsanne Van Veen - NSW
Julie Muir - NSW
Haylee Hoffmeister - NSW
Kavita Pepper- WA
Jess Martin - VIC

The Men's Black Caps Team of the Championships

Damien Duroux - NSW
Callan Morse - TAS
Nathan Price - NSW
Cameron Trask - QLD
Bevan Bennell - WA
Worrin Williams - QLD
Thomas Sky - QLD
Josh Bailey - WA
Rohan Best - VIC
Samuel Doggett- NSW
Ben Patterson - NSW
Marty Jeffrey - NSW