• Newly-appointed Minister for Aboriginal Affairs Sarah Mitchell door-knocking in Orange in Western NSW on 25 October 2016 (Sarah Mitchell Twitter)Source: Sarah Mitchell Twitter
The Nationals party's Sarah Mitchell will oversee Aboriginal Affairs and Early Childhood Education, taking over the portfolio from outgoing minister Leslie Williams
30 Jan 2017 - 5:06 PM  UPDATED 30 Jan 2017 - 5:08 PM

New South Wales has a new Minister for Aboriginal Affairs.

The Nationals party's Sarah Mitchell will now oversee the portfolio taking over from outgoing minister, Leslie Williams.

At 32, Ms Mitchell is the youngest member of the NSW Legislative Council and the youngest woman in State Parliament.

Hailing from north-west New South Wales, Ms Mitchell is currently serving as the Parliamentary Secretary for Regional and Rural Health and Western NSW.

Her new portfolio also includes Early Childhood Education and Assistant Minister for Education. 

The New South Wales Premier’s new Cabinet was sworn in today at Government House in Sydney. 

Premier Gladys Berejiklian unveiled her new cabinet yesterday, causing a major shake-up to her front bench.

The new-look cabinet saw the axing of some of the most experienced ministers, including Education Minister Anthony Piccoli and long-serving Roads Minister Duncan Gay, in addition to retiring Health Minister Jillian Skinner. 

Ms Berejiklian’s refreshed cabinet includes six new faces, four Liberal MPs and three Nationals.  

Ms Berejiklian says her new team will ensure every community gets its fair share of the state’s economic success.

“Our new team will work hard to make life easier for people right across NSW,” Ms Berejiklian said.

The new cabinet also includes two new portfolios for Counter Terrorism and the controversial West Connex project.

New NSW Cabinet: 

  • Gladys Berejiklian Premier
  • (John) Giovanni Barilaro Deputy Premier, Minister for Regional New South Wales, Minister for Skills, and Minister for Small Business
  • Dominic Perrottet Treasurer, and Minister for Industrial Relations
  • Niall Blair Minister for Primary Industries, Minister for Regional Water, and Minister for Trade and Industry
  • Donald Harwin Minister for Resources, Minister for Energy and Utilities, Minister for the Arts, and Vice-President of the Executive Council
  • Anthony Roberts Minister for Planning, Minister for Housing, and Special Minister of State
  • Andrew Constance Minister for Transport and Infrastructure
  • Brad Hazzard Minister for Health, and Minister for Medical Research
  • Robert Stokes Minister for Education
  • Mark Speakman Attorney General
  • Troy Grant Minister for Police, and Minister for Emergency Services
  • Victor Dominello Minister for Finance, Services and Property
  • Pru Goward Minister for Family and Community Services, Minister for Social Housing, and Minister for the Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault
  • Paul Toole Minister for Lands and Forestry, and Minister for Racing
  • David Elliott Minister for Counter Terrorism, Minister for Corrections, and Minister for Veterans Affairs
  • Gabrielle Upton Minister for the Environment, Minister for Local Government, and Minister for Heritage
  • Stuart Ayres Minister for Western Sydney, Minister for WestConnex, and Minister for Sport
  • Melinda Pavey Minister for Roads, Maritime and Freight
  • Matthew Kean Minister for Innovation and Better Regulation
  • Adam Marshall Minister for Tourism and Major Events, and Assistant Minister for Skills
  • Tanya Davies Minister for Mental Health, Minister for Women, and Minister for Ageing
  • Sarah Mitchell Minister for Early Childhood Education, Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, and Assistant Minister for Education
  • Raymond Williams Minister for Multiculturalism, and Minister for Disability Services