Aussie fan favourite Shannon Noll WILL be joining team Eurovision after all – along with Monica Trapaga, Myf Warhurst, James Mathison and Craig Porteils to form the Australian Jury. Making a triumphant return to her starring role as Australian Eurovision spokesperson will be SBS’s own Lee Lin Chin.
29 Apr 2016 - 9:01 PM  UPDATED 2 May 2016 - 10:32 AM

All rise! The Australian Eurovision Jury has been called to duty.

The Eurovision Song Contest voting procedure is legendary – and as unconventional as the performances.

Viewers in Australia and all other participating broadcasters are invited to vote for their favourite songs in the Eurovision Semi-final that their country competes in and the Grand Final, which makes up 50% of the total vote. More on how the public can vote below.

The other 50% of the vote is decided by a National Jury assembled in each participating country. Each jury comprises of a motley crew of respected local music/entertainment figures with extensive experience in the industry and, of course, a passion for the world’s biggest song contest.*

So without further ado, it’s time to meet Australia’s 2016 Eurovision Jury, charged with the glamorous task of finding performers guilty of pop perfection… or of criminal use of wind machine and key changes. Watch them spring into action: 


Meet the jury members:

Monica Trapaga (Chair)

Monica is best known for her work on the Australian series Play School but she is also an accomplished jazz singer, actress and author. Her professional career began as the femme fatale front person in the outrageously entertaining 1940’s inspired “Pardon Me Boys”, alongside her brother, notorious ex-punk rocker Ignatius Jones.

Shannon Noll

Back at the start of the year before the gorgeous and talented Dami Im was announced as our 2016 Eurovision artist, plenty of fans out there had strong feelings that Nollsie would follow in Guy Sebastian’s footsteps (just like he did on Australian Idol) and represent us in Stockholm. One fan even started a poll to send him to Eurovision. 

Now, you've got your wish Australia, as he joins team Eurovision - as a member of our official jury.

Since taking to the stage on Idol and commencing his successful recording career, he has gone on to receive acclaim with certified triple-platinum sales, number 1 hits and top 10 albums.

Myf Warhurst

Myf is a TV presenter, broadcaster, journalist and writer, best known for her seven year stint as a team captain on ABC TV's Spicks and Specks. Since 2014 Myf can be heard daily hosting ‘Lunch With Myf’ on ABC’s digital radio station Double J - the perfect home for this massive music fan.

James Mathison

James Mathison is a TV presenter, radio host and part time film critic. But it's his passion for music that started his diverse television career, scoring a job on Channel [V], before becoming co-host of the hugely successful Australian Idol. He presents Nova’s Summer breakfast and is also a regular guest on The ProjectStudio 10 and Today.

Craig Porteils

Craig is a multi-skilled music producer, composer and mix engineer who started his career in Los Angeles in 1989 where he recorded top international artists such as Guns n Roses, Billy Idol, Cher, Fleetwood Mac, Rod Stewart and  Ozzy Ozbourne. In 2009 he fulfilled a dream of writing a song for the Eurovision Song Contest, penning Greek superstar Sakis Rouvos’s hit entry.

SBS Director of Television and Online Content Marshall Heald said:

"This year’s Australian Eurovision jury represents some of Australia’s biggest music fans – not to mention industry legends in their own right. I can’t think of a better team to meticulously score the Eurovision contestants’ exciting performances.”



SBS is proud to announce that Gold Logie-nominated SBS World News presenter and regular contributor to SBS 2’s The Feed Lee Lin Chin will resume her role as Australia’s Eurovision Spokesperson after wowing Europe with her stylish delivery last year. The inimitable Ms Chin will once again present Australia’s allocation of points with aplomb, impeccable pronunciation and an asymmetrical outfit. 

Take note, Lee Lin:
Stockholm Calling! How To Be A Memorable Eurovision Voting Correspondent
We all know the best bit of Eurovision isn’t an exhilarating live performance or a beautiful, sweeping postcard of a far-off land – it’s the voting!



In each Semi-Final, 10 contestants are chosen to qualify for the Grand Final. As per the official Eurovision rules, viewers in all countries taking part in a particular Semi-Final are invited to vote via the official app, telephone and/or SMS. Australian viewers are eligible to vote in Semi Final 2 (in which Dami Im will perform) as well as The Grand Final. The voting window for Semi Final 2 and the Grand Final opens after the last song has been performed, and ends 15 minutes later. 


For Australian viewers, this means they will need to tune into the LIVE broadcasts of Semi Final 2 Friday 13 May from 5am, and the Grand Final Sunday 15 May from 5am in order to cast their vote at the same time as European audiences. To vote they will need to text or call the numbers that appear on screen during these live broadcasts.


Jury members and public voters can’t vote for their own countries, but there are plenty of other outstanding acts alongside our Australian hopeful Dami Im. Check out some of the favourites below:

Julia Zemiro's pick for who'll make the Eurovision Top 6
We spoke to Australia's reigning queen of Eurovision, Julia Zemiro, about her top picks for this year's song contest.
Aussie Eurovision fans cast their votes: Is this who'll win Eurovision 2016?
Members of the Australian Eurovision Song Contest Fan Club (ESCFAN) held their official fan preview party in Melbourne over the weekend where they cast their votes for their favourites to win Eurovision 2016. They guessed the winner correctly in 2015 - have they got it spot on again?