How the contest winners will be determined...
Chris Zeiher

11 Nov 2015 - 4:21 PM  UPDATED 12 Nov 2015 - 5:29 PM

Another Eurovision milestone for Australia will occur live early on the morning of Sunday November 22nd (AEST) when teen sensation Bella Paige takes to the stage in Sofia, Bulgaria as our first ever representative at Junior Eurovision.

As Australia is an official competitor in the contest we’ll also be represented by a 6 delegation jury that will vote on the other 16 contestant’s performances. The Australian Junior Eurovision National Jury was selected by SBS and had to meet criteria prescribed by the European Broadcasting Union. Each national jury is required to be comprises of a team of respected local music/entertainment figures with extensive experience in the industry and, of course, a passion for Eurovision.

Unlike its adult counterpart, the Junior Eurovision Jury features a 6th member who will have a seat on the “International Kids Jury”. This member is required to be a citizen of that nation, between 10 and 15 years of age and have a suitable musical background. SBS have selected accomplished singer Mara Van Duyl as the Australian member of the International Kids Jury.

How voting works

The Australian Junior Eurovision National Jury will assemble and watch the show live before voting on the acts. All National Juries will watch the second Dress Rehearsal or Jury Show to allow enough time for the votes to be tabulated. Once all 17 songs have been performed, each member of the National Jury ranks all the songs in order of preference whilst being monitored by an appointment notary.

Who is on the jury

Unfortunately, due to the adverse live broadcast time of the contest, voting for the Australian general public will not be opened. However, we’ll be well represented by our jury, which includes entertainment presenter Richard Wilkins, the original Red Wiggle Murray Cook, Playschool alum and musician Monica Trapaga, children’s entertainer Ben Thatcher and singing coach and choir conductor Natasha Cupitt. Their votes will be included in the total of the 50% of the cumulated jury vote, which will decide who’ll ultimately be crowned (and dowsed in copious amounts of glitter) the winner of Junior Eurovision 2015.


Watch Bella Paige follows in the glittery footsteps of Guy Sebastian and Jessica Mauboy and make Eurovision history when she hits the stage as Australia’s first representative at Junior Eurovision LIVE at 5:30am on Sunday November 22 or at 7:30pm on Saturday November 28 on SBS. 

Go to for all Junior Eurovision news, interviews, behind the scenes pics and to follow Bella’s journey in Bulgaria.