• sbane Roar team mates celebrate a goal during the round 10 W-League match between Sydney FC and Brisbane Roar at Central Coast Stadium on December 20, 2015 in Gosford, Australia. (Getty Images)Source: Getty Images
Brisbane Roar set up a semi-final meeting with Melbourne City after holding off Newcastle Jets in a final-round battle for the remaining available spot in the Westfield W-League finals series. The other semi-final will see second-placed Canberra United host third-placed Sydney FC at Belconnen’s McKellar Park on Sunday 24 January.
18 Jan 2016 - 3:06 PM  UPDATED 18 Jan 2016 - 3:06 PM

Melbourne City will play host to the Roar at AAMI Park on Monday 25 January, with the two winners to meet in the Westfield W-League Grand Final on Sunday 31 January.

All finals series matches will be broadcast LIVE on Fox Sports and ABC TV.

Sunday saw the Jets and the Roar played out a tense scoreless draw at Hunter Stadium in what was effectively a play-off for fourth.

The point was enough to ensure the Roar ended three points clear of both the Jets and Adelaide United.

The Lady Reds’ hopes of a maiden semi-final appearance ended on Friday with a 1-1 draw against Canberra United.

On Saturday, Melbourne City became the first Westfield W-League team to win every match in the regular season thanks to a 2-1 home victory over Sydney FC. City made it a perfect dozen thanks to a late winner from Marianna Tabain.

Western Sydney Wanderers scored late goals for a 2-0 win over last season’s premiers Perth Glory to leapfrog their opponents into seventh. 

Westfield W-League semi-finals details

Melbourne City v Brisbane Roar

  • AAMI Park, Melbourne
  • Monday 25 January 2016
  • Kick-off: 4:30pm
  • (Hyundai A-League double-header – Melbourne City v Wellington Phoenix)
  • Tickets

Canberra United v Sydney FC  

  • McKellar Park, Canberra
  • Sunday 24 January 2016
  • Kick-off: 2pm
  • Tickets