• Australian basketball great Lauren Jackson poses with the WNBA MVP trophy after winning the award in 2007 (Twitter)Source: Twitter
There is no argument Aussie basketball legend Lauren Jackson is the best Australia has ever produced - now she is in line to prove her case as the WNBA’s greatest of all time.
SBS Sport
9 Sep 2021 - 11:42 AM  UPDATED 9 Sep 2021 - 11:42 AM

WATCH the WNBA LIVE, FREE and in HD on SBS VICELAND and SBS On Demand - with our next game featuring Dallas Wings v Las Vegas Aces from 5am (AEST) on Tuesday September 14.

Jackson has been named by the WNBA as one of their top 25 players of all time as part of leaguewide celebration of their 25th season.

Set to become the first Australian to be enshrined in the Basketball Hall-of-fame this weekend, the two-time WNBA champion and three-time MVP is a part of a list hailed by the competition as a “collection of the 25 greatest and most influential players in WNBA history”, with players selected based on their overall contributions.

After breaking through in the Opals and then at the Sydney Olympic Games as a teenager, the Albury product made the move stateside at the age of 19 after being drafted with the first overall pick of the 2001 WNBA draft by the Seattle Storm.

The Storm were confident they had picked a star, but they wouldn’t have dreamt of the generational talent Jackson would go on to become.

Read More
How to watch the WNBA LIVE on SBS
The 2021 WNBA returns to centre court on Australian screens this season – with a host of games LIVE, FREE and in HD on SBS VICELAND and SBS On Demand, plus game replays.

Jackson’s career resume is something to be seen.

She won two WNBA championships (2004, 2010), three Most Valuable Player awards (2003, 2007, 2010), one Finals MVP (2010), three scoring titles (2003, 2004, 2007), Defensive Player of the Year (2007), seven All-Star selections, eight All-WNBA selections (seven First Team) and five All-Defensive team selections (two First Team).

The Aussie is also one of only three players to be named MVP three times (Sheryl Swoopes and Lisa Leslie) and is the first and only international player in WNBA history to be named MVP.

Fans will be able to pick their favourite player as the greatest in WNBA history in the “Vote for the GOAT” campaign which started on Monday and will run through to the end of the regular season on September 19.

Fans can vote via the WNBA‘s website and app or via Twitter, with the winner to be revealed during the WNBA finals in October.