• Hockeyroos celebrate a goal against England at Glasgow National Hockey Centre during day ten of the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games on August 2, 2014 in Glasgow, Scotland. (Getty Images)Source: Getty Images
Get the lowdown on who is in action across the weekend.
By
Stuart Randall

Source:
AAP, Australian Olympic Committee
12 Feb 2016 - 5:02 PM  UPDATED 12 Feb 2016 - 5:02 PM

Hockeyroos

It’s been a bit of a mixed bag for the national hockey team of late.  An inexperienced squad returned from the Singapore tri-series with just one win from their four matches, this off the back of a sixth place finish in December’s World League. Friday night see’s the team kick off a six match series in WA against Great Britain.

 

“Singapore was a great opportunity to expose our entire squad to top level competitive hockey. The games against GB give us another opportunity to use the full depth of the group against a high quality international opponent that is improving all the time,” said Hockeyroos coach Adam Commens. “The matches against Great Britain will help shape our thoughts leading up to the Hawke’s Bay Cup, which is when we’ll begin to narrow our focus towards the team for the Champions Trophy and Olympic Games.”

 

Don't miss a minute of the six matches. All live and free online via Epicentre.tv. Or get along to the series!

 Friday 12 February: 8:30pm AEDT / 5:30pm AWST, Bunbury & Districts Hockey Stadium

Sunday 14 February: 5:00pm AEDT / 2:00pm AWST, Bunbury & Districts Hockey Stadium

Tuesday 16 February: 9:00pm AEDT / 6:00pm AWST, Perth Hockey Stadium

Thursday 18 February: 9:00pm AEDT / 6:00pm AWST, Perth Hockey Stadium

Saturday 20 February: 6:00pm AEDT / 3:00pm AWST, Perth Hockey Stadium

Sunday 21 February: 6:00pm AEDT / 3:00pm AWST, Perth Hockey Stadium

 

Lisa Darmanin

With Olympic qualification already in the bag, Lisa Darmanin and her cousin Jason Waterhouse are focusing on World Championship glory in the Nacra 17 class.  The regatta kicked off in Clearwater Florida last weekend and comes to a climax on Sunday. The Aussie pair are currently lying in third place following a strong performance Thursday.  There are four rounds to come across this weekend.

 

Selena Tranter

It’s another weekend that’ll see Women’s Rugby League showcased, this time in Brisbane at the All Stars weekend.  And for Gold Coast local Selena Tranter it’s a special occasion. 

The 40 year old, a former captain of the Sevens in Union, will be representing the All Stars against the Indigenous selection, featuring a number of players she coached in her time in the Sevens set up. “This is a very important community event. It will be emotional to play in the same game as them.

 “They are like my little sisters. Even if they say I’m old enough to be their mum, that’s OK.’’ The Women’s All Stars match is the curtain raiser to the NRL game at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday, and will be live on NITV from 4.25pm AEDT.

 

Kim Brennan

The name may not be instantly familiar, but once you see Kim Brennan (nee Crow) on the water, you’ll know exactly who it is. 

The double medallist from London 2012, who married fellow rower Scott Brennan in December, starts her Olympic year in Penrith at the Selection Trials and the 2015 World Champion is expected to dominate in her pet event the Single Scull.

 

Chelsea Gubecka

It’ll be home comforts for Sunshine Coast teenager Chelsea Gubecka, who hopes to take another step on the road to Olympic qualification at the Open Water Championships in Mooloolaba. The 17 year old, who came 13th in last year’s World Championships, has secured a spot in the Rio Olympic qualifier in Portugal in June.  Gubecka will be joined by fellow local Kareena Lee who is yet to claim her spot in the final qualifier.n to becka will be joined by fellow local Kareena Lee who is yet to claim her spot in the final qualifier.