• Hockeyroos and Great Britain at Perth Hockey Stadium on February 18, 2016 in Perth, Australia. (Getty Images)Source: Getty Images
Next week, the Hockeyroos depart for New Zealand and the Hawke's Bay Cup. Up against six of the teams they're due to meet in Rio, it's a serious pre Olympics test. We profile some of the players en route to New Zealand for Rio.
By
Rachel de Bear

22 Mar 2016 - 7:30 PM  UPDATED 22 Mar 2016 - 9:26 PM

Brooke Peris

Debuting for the Hockeyroos in April 2013, 22-year-old forward Peris reached the 50 international game milestone last year and now has 79 caps. In 2013, the Darwinian was also awarded NT Sportsperson of the year.

Peris was a member of the under 21 team and also played in the Australian team that beat China to gold in the Australian Youth Olympic Festival title. She first played hockey at the age of four. 

Peris is studying to become a primary school teacher. 

Contrary to popular belief it was Peris, not Jayde Taylor who took the Commonwealth Games selfie Her Majesty the Queen photobombed. 

Grace Stewart

Just 18, Stewart scored a goal in her Hockeyroos debut in January 2016, against Germany in Singapore. 

Last year, the rookie balanced HSC studies with B squad call ups for the Hockeyroos as well as representative duties for the under 21 team in Argentina. 

Last year, she told her local Gerrigong newspaper, the South Coast Register she would move to Sydney after HSC as she didn't expect a Hockeyroos call up.  She now resides in Perth, to be near the Hockeyroos base. 

Anna Flanagan 

The 24-year-old defender has played 160 games for the Hockeyroos and scored 34 goals. Flanagan is the first hockey player to obtain a sponsorship from Red Bull, and only the fifth Australian woman.

In 2012, she scored the only Australian goal in the Hockey World League final, and was named World Young Player of the Year.

The Canberran started playing at four coached by her father Fred. Armed with a journalism degree, writing gigs, and social media smarts, Flanagan boasts 50,000 Instagram followers, 20,000 on Twitter, and her own blog. 

Madonna Blyth 

 

"O Captain. My Captain" - Blyth has led the Hockeyroos since 2009. The two-time Olympian is the most capped Australian female hockey player ever with 324 appearances. 

In 2014, she not only captained her team to World Cup silver and Commonwealth Games gold, she scored the winning goal against England in the final shoot-out. She is regarded as as one of the best players of her generation, given she's been named in the World All Stars team on three occasions (2007, 2009 and 2010). Her eyes are still on winning Olympic gold. 

Karri McMahon

 

South Australian defender Karri McMahon has not had her fair share of luck when it comes to injury, sitting out February's TPG Singapore Series with a stress fracture in her foot. In 2015, she took a lifted hit to the chin double fracturing her jaw, and later in the year a ball to the head needing stitches. 

While McMahon dabbled with hockey at the age of six, she didn't fall in love with the game until she was 15-years-old.

The 23-year-old juggled paramedics studies at Flinders with international hockey, her Hockeyroos caps totalling 88. 

The Hockeyroos squad for Hawke's Bay Cup - major pre-Olympic prep event:

Madonna Blyth (QLD), Edwina Bone (ACT), Jane Claxton (SA), Anna Flanagan (ACT), Jodie Kenny (QLD), Rachael Lynch (VIC), Karri McMahon (SA), Georgina Morgan (NSW), Gabrielle Nance (NSW), Ashleigh Nelson (WA), Georgie Parker (SA), Brooke Peris (NT), Casey Sablowski (NSW), Kathryn Slattery (WA), Emily Smith (NSW), Grace Stewart (NSW), Ashlee Wells (VIC), Mariah Williams (NSW).

Hockeryroos’ Hawke’s Bay Cup fixtures

Saturday 2 April – Hockeyroos v Japan – 11am AEDT / 8am AWST
Sunday 3 April – Hockeyroos v Korea – 11am AEST / 9am AWST
Tuesday 5 April – Hockeyroos v Canada – 12pm AEST / 10am AWST
Thursday 7 April – Quarter Finals
Saturday 9 April – Semi Finals
Sunday 10 April - Finals