• during Challenge Wanaka on February 22, 2015 in Wanaka, New Zealand. (Getty Images)Source: Getty Images
Ironman Australia start list is out and reigning champion, New Zealand's Michelle Bremer returns to defend her title against the likes of Ironman champions, Gina Crawford and Beth Gerdes. Race day is Sunday May 1st and as a P-2000 event, has a $50,000 prize purse, with $10,000 each going to the female and male winners.
Stef Hanson

19 Apr 2016 - 11:25 AM  UPDATED 19 Apr 2016 - 11:30 AM

Additionally, there are 55 slots to the Ironman World Championship in October up for grabs for age groupers. Race day also includes Ironman 70.3 Port Macquarie, with no professional race. 30 age group athletes can qualify for the Ironman 70.3 World Championship held on the Sunshine Coast in September. 

The women out to give Michelle a run for her money


  • Michelle Bremer (NZL)
  • Gina Crawford (NZL)
  • Beth Gerdes (USA)
  • Melanie Burke (NZL)
  • Dimity-Lee Duke (AUS)
  • Amy Javens (USA)
  • Lisa Marangon (AUS)
  • Tamsyn Hayes (NZL)
  • Kristy Hallett (AUS)
  • Wendy McAlpine (AUS)
  • Ali Fitch (AUS)
  • Lauren Parker (AUS)
  • Jessica Richards (AUS)

This article originally appeared on witsup.com.