It was an all Aussie final but there can be only one... winner.
18 May 2016 - 8:04 AM  UPDATED 18 May 2016 - 8:04 AM

Tyler Wright has claimed her third World Surf League victory of the year, defeating Sally Fitzgibbons in an all-Australian final of the women's Rio Pro.

Wright's opening ride in the final set up a victory, a combination of major turns in a low swell allowing her to score 8.67 and setting up a lead which she never relinquished.

Wright also scored victories on the Gold Coast and Margaret River in Perth earlier this year, giving her a 3000-point lead in the ranking ahead of Courtney Conlogue of the United States.