• Courtney Ugle in a Women's AFL Exhibition Match between the West Coast Eagles and the Fremantle Dockers, April 2016 in Perth. . (Getty Images)Source: Getty Images
Eight teams in the as yet unnamed 2017 Women's AFL competition were officially announced today. Courtney Ugle is surely to get the call up.
Rachel de Bear

15 Jun 2016 - 3:01 PM  UPDATED 15 Jun 2016 - 3:01 PM

Courtney Ugle says she likes to express how she's feeling out on the footy field. 

And in the historic first women's AFL competition launching in 2017, she'll no doubt get a whole new chance to express herself in the colours of Fremantle Dockers. 

Eight teams were announced today for the AFL backed competition that will offer similar opportunities to aspiring women and girls as to their male counterparts.  

Ugle is an AFL star in the making - and her story is sad but inspiring:



The eight teams of the AFL women's competition

Adelaide, Brisbane Lions, Carlton, Collingwood, Fremantle, Greater Western Sydney, Melbourne and the Western Bulldogs are the eight clubs that will compete next year in the first season of the AFL's women’s competition. 

St. Kilda, West Coast, Geelong, North Melbourne and Richmond were not granted initial licences but provisional ones for inclusion in a potentially expanded league for 2018. 

The first women's AFL competition will be played in February/March 2016.