• Rohan Dennis on his way to becoming the first Aussie to pull on an elite rainbow jersey after winning the 52,5km ITT from Rattenberg to Innsbruck (Getty)Source: Getty
World time trial champion Rohan Dennis spearheaded a successful night for cycling at the AIS awards overnight.

14 Dec 2018 - 8:15 AM  UPDATED 14 Dec 2018 - 8:25 AM

Men's cycling time trial world champion Rohan Dennis won the male athlete of the year as cycling picked up two more awards at the awards night on Thursday. 

Rohan Dennis post-worlds ITT interview

2018 was a massive year for the ITT specialist, winning the rainbow jersey at the 2018 UCI Road World Championships and six other victories in his pet event - two times at the Vuelta, and one each at the Giro, Tirreno-Adriatico, Abu Dhabi and the Australian road nationals. 

Dennis wins the Oppy for a second time
Rohan Dennis has won his second Sir Hubert Opperman Medal after taking out the world road time trial championship for the first time.
Rohan Dennis: ‘I really wanted this jersey, and now I want to defend it"
On Wednesday at the UCI Road World Championships, Australian Rohan Dennis put several years of misfortune behind him to claim the iconic time trial rainbow jersey. Ahead of the men’s road race, Dennis spoke to Cycling Central about a big 2018 and his plans for next year.
Dennis the first Aussie to win an elite road rainbow jersey since Cadel
Rohan Dennis destroyed the men's ITT field at the 2018 UCI Road World Championships, becoming the first Australian to pull on an elite road rainbow jersey since Cadel Evans' 2009 road race victory.

Luke Plapp was named emerging athlete of the year, taking two world titles on the track and a silver at the junior men's road world ITT.

The 19-year-old was also named junior male cyclist of the year at last month's Cycling Australia Oppy Awards.  

Lucas Plapp's silver medal ITT run at the 2018 UCI Road World Championships

Cycling also took the gong for high performance program of the year. 

Dominant canoeist Jessica Fox took out the women's award and team of the year went to the Kookaburras men's hockey team. The ABC sports personality of the year was awarded to Supercars driver Craig Lowndes, who retired from full-time driving at the end of this year's championship.

Australian sport fans voted wheelchair racer Kurt Fearnley's marathon triumph and the full integration of para-sport at the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games as the best sporting moment of the year.

Watch some more of Dennis' 2018 victories:

Rohan Dennis wins Stage 16 of the 2018 Vuelta a Espana

Rohan Dennis wins Stage 1 of the 2018 Vuelta a Espana

Rohan Dennis at the 2018 Cycling Australia Road National Championships