• Egan Bernal earlier this month (Getty Images)Source: Getty Images
2019 Tour de France winner Egan Bernal claimed the Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year award in Berlin on Tuesday (AEDT).
Cycling Central

18 Feb 2020 - 12:12 PM  UPDATED 19 Feb 2020 - 2:02 PM

WATCH exclusive live 2020 Tour de France coverage on SBS from June 27.

Bernal becomes the first cyclist since Lance Armstrong to win a Laureus award.

Armstrong won the Comeback award in 2000, and Laureus Sportsman of the Year three years later, before those awards were rescinded.

"It's a really big result for my career. I'm really happy. It is something that I will not forget," Bernal said.

"I'm really happy for that and hope to win again in the future."

Bernal is the youngest Tour de France winner of the modern era, claiming the honour on his second attempt.

Barcelona star Lionel Messi and Formula One driver Lewis Hamilton were joint-winners of the top honour - the Laureus World Sportsman of the Year award.