• Cam Ivory wins the National Championships Mens criterium on January 14, 2022, at Sturt Street , Ballarat, Australia. (Photo by Con Chronis) (Con Chronis/AusCycling)Source: Con Chronis/AusCycling
It was a spectacular late attack from Cameron Ivory (St George Continental) that netted the mountain-bike star his first national title on the road, as he held off the sprinters to claim victory.
SBS Cycling Central


Cameron Ivory (St George Continental) showcased his formidable criterium pedigree with a stunning attack with one and a half laps to go in the elite men’s criterium, stealing the victory from the more fancied sprinters as he won with daylight behind.

“That was definitely unexpected,” said Ivory. “I came in here not really knowing how the form would be. I know I’ve done heaps of training coming into this… in good form, but perhaps lacking a bit of leg speed.

“I’ve actually played that last lap in my mind in the past and thought ‘if this happens, then maybe I’ll have a dig’. Next thing I know, I found myself in that situation. That last lap was a blur for me, I couldn’t believe it was happening.”

A fast-paced, attritional start to the criterium quickly saw the peloton strung out and riders dropped as attacks flowed off the front of the main bunch. Several attacks formed, but none gained too much advantage with Inform TMX MAKE attentive in chasing for their star sprinter Brenton Jones.

Nero Continental, Bridgelane, CycleHouse and Oliver’s Real Food Racing were the main aggressors, but despite their zeal it took until two thirds of the way through the race when a serious move of Ben Carman (Nero Continental), JP van der Merwe (Bridgelane) with Bentley Niquet-Olden (Oliver’s Real Food Racing) trying to follow before going back to the peloton.

Roseman-Gannon continues perfect 2022 with crit championships win
Ruby Roseman-Gannon (BikeExchange-Jayco) managed to shrug off a series of runner-up finishes at the national criterium championships, sprinting to the win after making the late split as an elite group attacked in the final laps.
Dennis and Brown re-claim national time trial crowns
Rohan Dennis (Jumbo-Visma) and Grace Brown (FDJ Nouvelle Aquitanie Futuroscope) both made winning starts with their new teams for 2022, re-claiming titles that had been taken by others in recent years in the Australian Road National Championships time trial.

The pair were kept in check by the chase of Inform TMX MAKE, before the final five laps of the race saw a flurry of attacks and they were swept up. Brendan Johnston (Giant) was prominent in trying to force clear a move, before Alastair Christie-Johnston (Team Bridgelane) launched clear at the top of the straight with a lap and a half to go.

Ivory followed and was able to sweep past the plucky Christie-Johnstone, who would fight hard to ultimately hold on for second. Ivory was in a class of his own though as he put down the incredible power he is renowned for, raising a tired arm as he crossed the line in triumph.

Christie-Johnston was second, narrowly holding off a marauding Cameron Scott (ARA-Pro Racing Sunshine Coast) who continued an unlucky history of winning bunch sprints when the race winner was up the road at national championships.

In the Under 23 men’s criterium, held earlier in the day, it was Graeme Frislie who won, with Josh Duffy making it an Inform TMX MAKE 1-2 with Zachary Marshall (St George Contiental) filling out the podium.   

Saturday will be the first time that the Under 23 men’s road race has been broadcast live. Watch the action from 1530 AEDT on SBS On Demand.