A huge congratulations to all the winners!
1 Mar 2017 - 9:30 AM  UPDATED 1 Mar 2017 - 9:31 AM

The 14th Korean Music Awards were held just recently (February 28), which saw the recognition of some of 2016's top artists and releases.

Among the night's many worthy winners, it was Jay Park who had a memorable night, managing to win the awards for Musican of the Year and Best R&B and Soul Album. While Park couldn't be at the ceremony in person, he did take to Instagram to express his thanks and gratitude.

As for the prestigious Song of the Year award, it was hit indie duo Bolbbalgan4 who managed to snag the win over a highly-competitive group of nominees that included Wonder Girls and TWICE.

One notable winner were the Wonder Girls, who managed to pick up the Best Pop Song Award for "Why So Lonely" despite having disbanded.

Here's a full list of all the winners:

Best R&B and Soul Song Award: jeebanoff – “Sungbook-gu Kids”

Best R&B and Soul Album Award: Jay Park – “Everything You Wanted”

Best Jazz and Crossover Song Award: Choi Sung Ho Singularity – “When the Wind Blows”

Best Jazz and Crossover Album Award: Second Moon – “Pansori Chunhyang-ga”

Best Jazz and Crossover Performance Award: Black String – “Mask Dance”

Best Folk Song Award: Lang Lee – “Playing God”

Best Folk Album Award: Minhwee Lee – “Borrowed Tongue”

Best Dance and Electronic Song Award: Hitchhiker – “$10”

Best Dance and Electronic Album Award: Kirara – “Moves”

Best Metal and Hardcore Album Award: Remnants of the Fallen – “Shadow Walk”

Best Modern Rock Song Award: 9 and the Numbers – “Ellice Islands (Song for Tuvalu)”

Best Modern Rock Album Award: Wings of the ISANG – “Stream of Consciousness”

Best Rap and Hip-Hop Song Award: BewhY – “Forever (Produced by GRAY)”

Best Rap and Hip-Hop Album Award: Hwaji – “Zissou”

Best Pop Song Award: Wonder Girls – “Why So Lonely”

Best Pop Album Award: Jo Dong Jin – “As a Tree”

Best Rock Song Award: Jun Bum Sun and the Yangbans – “Revolution”

Best Rock Album Album: ABTB – “Attraction Between Two Bodies”

Achievement Award: Kim Hong Tak

Committee Choice Special Award: Yoon Min Suk, and the musicians who took part in “Gentrification”

Rookie of the Year Award: Silica Gel

Musician of the Year Award: Jay Park

Song of the Year Award: Bolbbalgan4’s “Galaxy”

Album of the Year Award: Jo Dong Jin’s “As a Tree”

A huge congrats to all the Korean Music Awards winners!


Hear us on SBS PopAsia Digital Radio

Listen in 24/7 on Digital Radio, by downloading our free mobile app or by streaming live here on our website.

Download the app here:

LISTEN: Jay Park talks about the hardships he had as a JYP trainee
It was a long and hard road to success for Jay Park.
BIGBANG, BTS, iKON and 2PM win big at Japan Gold Disc Awards
A big night for K-pop at the Japanese awards event!
EXO, Black Pink, BTS, TWICE and more win big at the 6th Gaon Chart Music Awards
Many worthy winners on a big night for K-pop!
Wonder Girls are disbanding
Wonder Girls will be calling it quits after 10 years together.