• (Goblin, Train To Busan, SM Entertainment)
Gong Yoo, "Goblin," "Train To Busan," and EXO's D.O. were among the night's big winners!
4 May 2017 - 10:02 AM  UPDATED 4 May 2017 - 10:02 AM

Last night (May 3) saw the 53rd Baeksang Arts Awards take place, which is a prestigious annual event that honours the best and brightest in Korean film and television from the past 12 motnhs. From brilliant films like "Train to Busan" and "The Handmaiden" to fantastic TV shows like "Goblin" and "Moonlight Drawn By Clouds," the nominee list was filled with many worthy entries for this year's event.

There were a number of notable film winners on the night, such as Yeon Sang Ho winning the Best New Director award for his work on "Train To Busan" and EXO's D.O winning the Male Popularity Award for his role on "My Annoying Brother."

For the TV categories, it was a big night for "Goblin" and Gong Yoo, who picked up the Grand Award and the trophy for Best Actor respectively. 

Here's a list of the night's winners:

Movie categories

Grand Award – Park Chan Wook for “The Handmaiden”
Best Film – “The Wailing”
Best Director -Kim Ji Woon for “The Age of Shadows”
Best New Director – Yeon Sang Ho for “Train to Busan”
Best Actor – Song Kang Ho for “The Age of Shadows”
Best Actress – Son Ye Jin for “The Last Princess”
Best Supporting Actor – Kim Ui Sung for “Train to Busan”
Best Supporting Actress -Kim So Jin for “The King”
Best New Actor – Ryu Jun Yeol for “The King”
Best New Actress – Lee Sang Hee for “Our Love Story”
Best Screenplay – Yoon Ga Eun for “The World of Us”
Male Popularity Award – Do Kyung Soo (EXO’s D.O.) for “My Annoying Brother”

Female Popularity Award – YoonA (Girls’ Generation) for “Confidential Assignment”

TV categories

Grand Award – Kim Eun Sook for “Goblin”
Best TV Drama – tvN’s “Dear My Friends”
Best Entertainment Program – SBS’s “My Ugly Duckling”
Best Educational/Cultural Show – JTBC’s “War of Words”
Best Director – Yoo In Sik for “Romantic Doctor Kim”
Best Actor – Gong Yoo for “Goblin”

Best Actress – Seo Hyun Jin for “Another Oh Hae Young”
Best New Actor – Kim Min Suk for “Doctors”
Best New Actress – Lee Se Young for “Laurel Tree Tailors”
Best Screenplay – No Hee Kyung for “Dear My Friends”
Best Variety Star (Male) – Yang Se Hyung for “Moby Dick Yang Se Hyung’s Short-erview”
Best Variety Star (Female) – Park Na Rae for “I Live Alone”
Male Popularity Award – Park Bo Gum for “Moonlight Drawn by Clouds”
Female Popularity Award – Kim Yoo Jung for “Moonlight Drawn by Clouds”
Best Style Award – Kim Ha Neul for “On the Way to the Airport”
Lifetime Achievement Award – Kim Young Ae

A huge congrats to all the winners and nominated artists at the 53rd Baeksang Arts Awards!


Hear us on SBS PopAsia Digital Radio

Listen in 24/7 on Digital Radio, by downloading our free mobile app or by streaming live here on our website.

Download the app here:

QUIZ: How well do you know K-drama Strong Woman Do Bong Soon?
Missing Min-hyuk and Gook-doo's hidden bromance? Min-Min and Bong Bong's cute interactions? Relive the feels and test your knowledge!
QUIZ: How well do you know K-drama Goblin?
Missing the Grim Reaper and Goblin bromance? Relive the feels and test your knowledge!
QUIZ - How well D.O. you know birthday boy D.O.?
Test your knowledge about EXO's smooth vocalist D.O!
REVIEW: Train To Busan
For those who've become disillusioned with the zombie genre, Train To Busan will restore your faith.