For the first time, Australian votes count. Here is an introduction to Eurovision voting - a legendary procedure that is nearly as eccentric as the performances themselves.
1 May 2015 - 9:00 PM  UPDATED 1 May 2015 - 9:00 PM

Psst! You don't need to rise in the wee hours to have your say! Tune in to SBS each night at 7:30pm and jump on to SBS Eurovision to rate performances and decide Australia's Favourite!


Viewers in all 40 participating countries, including Australia, can vote for their favourite songs in the Eurovision Semi-Finals and Grand Final by televoting, which makes up 50% of the total vote. For complete fairness, countries cannot vote for themselves (sorry Guy!) The other 50% of the vote comes from the National Juries. Who is in the Australian Eurovision jury? Find out here!  


The video below explains what happens with your vote in the Eurovision Song Contest.


In each Semi-Final, 10 contestants are chosen to qualify for the Grand Final. Viewers in all countries taking part in a particular Semi-Final are invited to vote via the official app, telephone and/or SMS. In the first Semi-Final, viewers and juries in Australia, Austria, France and Spain will vote. In the second Semi-Final, viewers and juries in Australia, Germany, Italy and the United Kingdom will also vote. All 40 participating countries including Australia vote in The Grand Final. The voting window opens after the last song has been performed, and ends 15 minutes later.

For Australians to vote they will need to tune in to the LIVE Eurovision broadcasts on Wednesday May 20, Friday May 22, and Sunday May 24 at 5am AEST on SBS ONE. To vote they will need to text or call the numbers that appear on screen during the live broadcast. There is a limit of 20 votes per phone number.

The Australian telephone and SMS numbers will be annouced 24 hours before the first Semi Final (Tuesday May 19).



Australia votes for the first time 

To give the 60th anniversary celebrations an additional dimension and to give special consideration on this year’s theme Building Bridges, Australia has been invited to compete in the Eurovision 2015 Grand Final. This brings the total amount of represented countries to 40.

Australia will be allowed to vote in both Semi-Finals, as well as the Grand Final. No country can vote for the performer representing them, which means viewers watching in Australia will not be able to vote for Guy Sebastian. Viewers in all other 39 participating countries can vote for Guy Sebastian.



How are votes calculated? 

Viewers at home and professional juries each determine half of the outcome of the two Semi-Finals and the Grand Final of the Eurovision Song Contest. In each Semi-Final, 10 contestants qualify for the Final. The voting window opens after the last song has been performed, and ends 15 minutes later. Televoters determine 50% of the outcome. Professional juries in all countries that are competing are required to vote. They also determine 50% of the outcome. The jury, which consists of five members (including a chairperson), is the same jury that will vote in the Final.

The EBU will determine the national result by merging these two ranked lists, and will award 12 points to the country with the best combined rank of the jury and the televoting, then 10 points to country with the second-best combined rank, etc. The country ranked 10th in the combined ranking receives 1 point.

If there is a tie between two or more songs in the combined ranking between televotes and the jury, the song that obtain a better ranking from the televote will prevail over the other. 



Official voting will only be open during the live broadcasts:
Semi-Final 1: 5am Wednesday 20 May | Semi-Final 2: 5am Friday 22 May | Grand Final: 5am Sunday 24 May