Castro pips Mooy to John Warren Medal

Perth Glory's Diego Castro was named the Johnny Warren Medal winner as the A-League's player of the season at the Dolan Warren Awards on Tuesday night.

Diego Castro

Source: Getty Images

Canberra United's Ashleigh Sykes took out the Julie Dolan Medal, the W-League’s highest honour, with Dylan Smith from Adelaide United claiming the National Youth League Player of the Year Award.

Diego Castro received 34 points from a panel that included votes from former professional players, coaching experts, match officials and media representatives.

He was closely followed by Aaron Mooy (Melbourne City FC – 33 points), Bruno Fornaroli (Melbourne City FC - 27 points) and Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar - 27 points) and Marcelo Carrusca (Adelaide United - 23 points).

Brisbane Roar FC’s Jamie Maclaren was named the A-League Young Footballer of the Year and Melbourne City FC’s Larissa Crummer was the inaugural winner of the W-League Young Footballer of the Year Award.

After orchestrating a miraculous turnaround from last place in Round 8 to winning the Premiers Plate in Round 27, it was no surprise that Adelaide United coach Guillermo Amor received the A-League Coach of the Year Award.

Craig Deans from the Newcastle Jets was named the W-League Coach of the Year as voted for by their peers.

Melbourne City FC’s talismanic Uruguayan striker, Bruno Fornaroli, was a clear winner of the Golden Boot Award as the top goal scorer for the Hyundai A-League 2015-2016 season with a record breaking 23 goals.

Melbourne City's women's team also featured a golden boot winner, after Larissa Crummer took out the W-League 2015-2016 award courtesy of her 11 goals this season.

Joseph Katebian from Melbourne Victory was the top goal scorer for the National Youth League 2015-2016 season with 10 goals.

Melbourne City FC’s former Danish International goalkeeper Thomas Sorensen collected the A-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award and Kaitlyn Savage from Adelaide United received the W-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award.

Central Coast Mariner Roy O’Donovan scored the Hyundai A-League the Goal of the Year Award for his 83rd minute strike against Adelaide United in Round 25. Perth Glory’s US-import Vanessa Di Bernardo scored the W-League Goal of the Year for her 88th minute strike against Brisbane Roar FC in Round 5.

Brisbane Roar FC picked up the A-League Fair Play Award for a record 5th time after accruing the least number of yellow and red card points.

Melbourne City FC won the W-League Fair Play Award with the Newcastle Jets winning the National Youth League Fair Play Award.

In the referee awards, it was a case of déjà vu with Jarred Gillett again named the A-League Referee of the Year award and Kate Jacewicz from Brisbane collecting the W-League’s Referee of the Year extending her record to six titles.

Western Sydney Wanderers collected the inaugural Community Champion Award in recognition for their corporate social responsibility programs and partnerships.

The Wanderers work has impacted the lives of the local community by creating awareness and raising funds to address the issues of domestic violence, bullying and racism throughout the Western Sydney region.

Johnny Warren Medal (Player of the Year): Diego Castro – Perth Glory
Hyundai A-League NAB Young Footballer of the Year: Jamie Maclaren – Brisbane Roar
Goalkeeper of the Year: Thomas Sorensen – Melbourne City
Nike Golden Boot Award: Bruno Fornaroli – Melbourne City (23 Goals)
Goal of the Year: Roy O’Donovan – Central Coast Mariners (Rd 25)
Coach of the Year: Guillermo Amor – Adelaide United
Fair Play Award: Brisbane Roar FC
Referee of the Year: Jarred Gillett
Foxtel National Youth League Player of the Year: Dylan Smith – Adelaide United
Foxtel National Youth League Fair Play Award: Brisbane Roar
Johnny Warren Medal 2015/16 - Voting – Top 5      
Diego Castro - Perth Glory 34 points  
Aaron Mooy - Melbourne City FC 33points
Bruno Fornaroli - Melbourne City FC 27points
Jamie Maclaren - Brisbane Roar FC 27 points
Marcelo Carrusca - Adelaide United 23 points
Julie Dolan Medal: Ashleigh Sykes – Canberra United
Westfield W-League NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award: Larissa Crummer – Melbourne City
Players Player of the Year: Kim Little – Melbourne City FC
Goalkeeper of the Year: Kaitlyn Savage – Adelaide United
Goal of the Year: Vanessa Di Bernardo – Perth Glory (Rd 5)
Coach of the Year: Craig Deans – Newcastle Jets
Golden Boot Award:  Larissa Crummer – Melbourne City
Fair Play Award:  Melbourne City
Referee of the Year: Kate Jacewicz

Watch the FIFA World Cup, Tour de France, Giro d’Italia, Vuelta a España, Dakar Rally, World Athletics / ISU Championships (and more) via SBS On Demand – your free live streaming and catch-up service.
Have a story or comment? Contact Us

Watch the FIFA World Cup, Tour de France, Giro d’Italia, Vuelta a España, Dakar Rally, World Athletics / ISU Championships (and more) via SBS On Demand – your free live streaming and catch-up service.
Watch nowOn Demand
Follow SBS Sport
4 min read
Published 26 April 2016 at 8:19pm
Source: FFA