At-a-glance: Agencies to be abolished in the Budget

Bags of newly struck coins are stored at the coin production factory at the Royal Australian Mint in Canberra. (File: AAP)

Dozens of government agencies are set to be abolished or merged as part of cost cutting measures in the Abbott Government’s first federal budget.

The planned restructure, as reported by David Crowe in The Australian, is expected to save the government $470 million over four years.

A number of Indigenous bodies are among those to be abolished, including the Prime Minister’s Indigenous Business Policy Advisory Group and Co-ordinator General for Remote Indigenous Services.

Immigration and refugee bodies are also facing changes, with the merging of the Migration Review Tribunal, Refugee Review Tribunal and Social Security Appeals Tribunal.

A complete list of affected agencies, first published by The Australian, is listed below.

To be sold
  • Defence Housing Australia
  • Royal Australian Mint
  • Australian Hearing
  • Australian Securities and Investments Commission file registry
  • Medibank Private
To be abolished
  • Abalone Aquaculture Health Accreditation Workshop
  • Albury-Wodonga Development Corporation
  • Australian Renewable Energy Agency
  • Australian River Company Limited
  • Corporations and Markets Advisory Committee
  • National Water Commission
  • COAG Reform Council
  • Independent National Security Legislation Monitor
  • Prime Minister’s Indigenous Business Policy Advisory Group
To be folded into Departments
  • Australian Customs and Border Protection Service
  • Health Workforce Australia
  • General Practice Education and Training Limited
  • Australian National Preventative Health Agency
  • Grape and Wine Research
  • Wine Australia Corporation Selection Committee
  • Telecommunications Universal Service Management Agency
To be merged with other agencies
  • ComSuper with Commonwealth Super Corporation
  • Administrative Appeals Tribunal, Classification Review Board
  • Migration Review Tribunal, Refugee Review Tribunal, Social Security Appeals Tribunal
  • Office of Australian Information Commissioner to be divided among Australian Human Rights Commission, Administrative Appeals Tribunal, Commonwealth Ombudsman, Attorney-General’s Department
  • Back-office functions to be combined at National Archives, National Film and Sound Archive, National Gallery, National Library, National Museum, National Portrait Gallery, Old Parliament House
  • Functions of Private Health Insurance Administration Council to be folded into Australian Competition and Consumer Commission and Australian Regulation Authority
  • Merger of National Biosecurity Committee with Australian Weeds Committee, Biosafety and Biosecurity Working Group, Pests and Disease Working Group
  • National Competition Council folded into Australian Competition and Consumer Commission
  • National Blood Authority with Australian Organ and Tissue Donation and Transplantation Authority
  • New Health Productivity and Performance Authority will combine Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care, Independent Hospitals Pricing Authority, National Health Funding Body, National Health Performance Authority, Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
Already being abolished
  • Social Inclusion Board
  • Australian Animals Welfare Advisory Committee
  • Commonwealth Firearms Advisory Council
  • International legal Service Advisory Council;
  • National Corporate Wrongdoing
  • Antarctic Animal Ethics Committee
  • Advisory Panel on Marketing Infant Formula
  • High Speed Rail Advisory Group
  • Maritime Workforce Development Forum
  • Advisory Panel on Positive Aging
  • Insurance Reform Advisory Group
  • National Policy Commission on Indigenous Housing
  • National Children and Family Roundtable
  • Prime Minister’s Council on Homelessness
  • Pulp and Paper Advisory Group
  • National Alternative Dispute Resolution Advisory Council
  • Centre for Workplace Leadership Advisory Group
  • National Council for Education for Sustainability
  • National Sustainability Council
  • Procurement Consultative Committee
  • Climate Commission
  • Energy Security Council
  • Independent Inspector-General of Animal Welfare and Live Animal Exports
  • Pharmaceutical Benefits Pricing Authority
  • Co-ordinator General for Remote Indigenous Services
  • National Gambling Regulator
  • Climate Change Authority
  • Clean Energy Finance Corporation
  • Australian Charities and Not for Profit Commission
Source SBS

Stay up to date with SBS NEWS

  • App
  • Subscribe
  • Follow
  • Listen
  • Watch