The live show broadcasts LIVE on Saturday 9 February at 8.30pm AEDT on SBS
Staff writers

25 Jan 2019 - 8:07 AM  UPDATED 25 Jan 2019 - 8:07 AM

With all ten acts now confirmed for the first ever national selection show Eurovision – Australia Decides, SBS and production partner Blink TV have announced two more songs. Released today, Kate Miller-Heidke co-wrote Zero Gravity with her partner and music collaborator Keir Nuttall, while Australian rock legend Ella Hooper’s song Data Dust was written by 24-year-old composer Alice Chance.

On her song, Kate Miller-Heidke told SBS: “Zero Gravity is an operatic pop song about coming out of depression. It uses the metaphor of a bad relationship to describe what it can feel like to be depressed. The choruses and the outro try to capture the feeling of transcendence. I love the double meaning of the word ‘gravity’ - that the song can also be about leaving seriousness behind.”

Ella Hooper also gave us the inside word on her song: “Data Dust is a powerful rock-pop feast, peppered with attitude. It is about digital addiction and the ever-creeping effects of social media on our lives, the power pop banger grabs the listener immediately. I am hoping to bring a bit of traditional rock n roll energy to a bombastic performance of a meaningful pop song.”

Songwriter Alice Chance, who wrote the song to be performed by Ella Hooper, was thrilled that her song was picked for the competition: “It’s a huge privilege for my song to have been fished out of a pool of over 700 to be included in Eurovision – Australia Decides. Data Dust spilled out of my brain one morning while I was going to work. Even though it all happened very quickly, the things I talk about in the song are important to me and I’ve been thinking about them for a while. I’m so chuffed that these ideas also resonated with the judges and I am quietly confident they will resonate with Australia as well. I’ve always dreamed of writing a song for our Australian representative. It’s incredible to think I’m just one more step away from the fulfillment of this dream.”

Hosted on the Gold Coast and broadcast live and exclusively on SBS on Saturday 9 February, Eurovision – Australia Decides will showcase some of Australia's biggest acts, singing original compositions, for their chance to represent the country at the Eurovision Song Contest 2019.

The final ten acts vying for their shot to represent Australia on the world’s biggest stage are: award-winning artist Kate Miller-Heidke, much-loved indie pop band Sheppard, pop-opera star Mark Vincent, modern electric-soul duo Electric Fields, legendary drag queen and reality television veteran Courtney Act, charismatic pop star Aydan, 16-year-old singer-songwriter Leea Nanos, rock music icon Ella Hooper, bona fide Aussie pop legend Tania Doko and The Voice winner Alfie Arcuri.

With two weeks until show time, there are just two songs to be released by Sheppard and Tania Doko and special guest performances to be announced.

In association with the Queensland Government via Tourism and Events Queensland and the City of Gold Coast, Eurovision – Australia Decides will be presented at the Gold Coast Convention Centre on Friday 8 and Saturday 9 February and tickets for the Jury Preview Show, Matinee Preview Show and Live TV Final are now on sale.

Be a part of history and see it live at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre. To purchase tickets:


Friday 8 February, 7.30pm AEST (Not televised)
Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre

Saturday 9 February, 1.00pm AEST (Not televised)
Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre

Saturday 9 February, 7.30pm AEST
Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre
Live and Exclusive TV Broadcast on SBS


Eurovision – Australia Decides airs Saturday 9 February live on SBS, when voting will be open to the public.

Broadcast times across Australia:

NSW/VIC/TAS/ACT                 8:30pm – 11:00pm       AEDT

QLD                                         7:30pm – 10:00pm       AEST

SA                                           8:00pm – 10:30pm       ACDT

WA                                          5:30pm – 8:00pm         AWST

NT                                           7:00pm – 9:30pm         ACST



Data Dust

Performed by Ella Hooper and written by Alice Chance


Zero Gravity

By Kate Miller Heidke and Keir Nuttall


To Myself

By Alfie Arcuri, Audius Mtawarira, Séb Mont

Lyric Video:  



By Aydan, Cam Bluff and Dylan Joel


Electric Fields – 2000 and Whatever

By Michael Ross and Zaachariaha Fielding


Leea Nanos – Set Me Free

By Leea Nanos and Frank Dixon


Mark Vincent – This Is Not The End

By Mark Vincent, Roberto De Sa and Isabella Kearney-Nurse


Courtney Act – Fight for Love

By Filly Adams, Sky Adams, Danny Shah and Shane Jenek


Stay tuned to the SBS Eurovision website for updates

#Eurovision #AusDecides