• Special guest, Swedish pop star Måns Zelmerlöw. (SBS)Source: SBS
The Australian search for a 2020 Eurovision Song Contest representative artist will feature some mega-watt special guests Saturday 8 February.
23 Jan 2020 - 2:55 PM  UPDATED 28 Jan 2020 - 10:10 AM

SBS and production partner Blink TV are excited to announce Swedish pop phenomenon and winner of the Eurovision Song Contest 2015 Måns Zelmerlöw is heading to the Gold Coast to perform and take part as a Jury member for Eurovision – Australia Decides next month.

Singer, songwriter and TV presenter, Zelmerlöw masterminded one of the most memorable wins in Swedish Eurovision Song Contest history with his performance of the uplifting multi-platinum single Heroes. After winning, Heroes peaked at #1 on iTunes in 21 countries and his tour across Europe took him to 22 cities – most of them at sold out venues. In 2016, he co-hosted Eurovision in Stockholm, Sweden where Dami Im made history winning the Jury vote and coming second overall with her performance of Sound of Silence.

“I’m so excited to come back to my favourite country to perform, and to be a guest judge on the National Eurovision selection show!” said Måns Zelmerlöw. “Australia has sent great songs ever since they joined the Eurovision Song Contest and I think 2020 could be THE year. I might sing a line or two from my winning song from 2015 and from my newest single, Walk with Me, featuring the wonderful Dami Im. Can’t wait to see you all!”

Joining him in Australia is Eurovision boss Jon Ola Sand who will step down as Executive Supervisor after Rotterdam 2020. Over the past decade, Jon Ola has become synonymous with the Eurovision Song Contest among the hundreds of millions of viewers who’ve watched him throw to the voting segment with the iconic phrase “take it away.”

Jon Ola Sand paid tribute to the role SBS plays in bringing Eurovision to Australians.“I’m very happy to be Down Under and a part of Australia Decides this year. Since first taking part in 2015, SBS has made a huge contribution to the success of the Eurovision Song Contest. Their excellent national selection show, which showcases the country’s best singing talent, underscores SBS and Australia’s place as valued members of the Eurovision family.”

“We’re thrilled to welcome Måns and Jon Ola to Australia for our national selection show,” said Josh Martin, SBS Commissioning Editor for Entertainment and Australian Head of Delegation. “Normally, Australia heads to Europe, but in February Europe is coming to Australia! Måns is one of the all-time Eurovision greats and fans are in for a real treat. And it’s with a mix of sadness and excitement that we welcome Jon Ola to our shores as his stewardship of Eurovision approaches the end. Since 2010 he has overseen a phenomenal period of change and growth in the contest, and all of us here at SBS and around Australia will be forever thankful that we were invited to the party!”

Said Creative Director of Eurovision – Australia Decides and Director of Blink TV Paul Clarke, “Hej Hej, welcome Måns! He was a game changer at Eurovision when he won in 2015 and it will be like a Eurovision masterclass for our artists and audience to see him performing on the Gold Coast. It’s a dream come true for Dami Im to release a song with Måns, and their duet on the night will be one of the highlights of the show. We also look forward to hosting Jon Ola Sand at Australia Decides – he’s been a great advocate for Australia’s involvement in Eurovision over the past decade.”

Broadcast live and exclusive from the Gold Coast, the national selection, now in its second year, will showcase 10 well-known Australian artists, performing original songs, for the chance to represent the country at the Eurovision Song Contest. You’ll be able to cast your vote, too! Tune into SBS on Saturday 8 February at 8.30pm AEDT. 

The 2020 contenders

From across the musical spectrum, vying for the top spot this year are Aussie icon Vanessa Amorosi, powerhouse entertainer Casey Donovan, rising First Nations artist Mitch Tambo, glam rock star iOTA, art pop auteur Montaigne, alternative artist Didirri, The Voice winner Diana Rouvas, Australia’s Got Talent winner Jack Vidgen, 19-year-old emerging singer-songwriter Jordan-Ravi and Taiwanese-Australian multi-media artist Jaguar Jonze.

Hosted by SBS Eurovisionaries comedian Joel Creasey and music buff Myf Warhurst, Eurovision – Australia Decides will showcase the best of Australian music and bring the nation closer to the Eurovision action. Audiences are encouraged to vote for their favourite acts and the winner will be revealed during the Live TV Final broadcast live and exclusively on SBS on Saturday 8 February. 

Guest performers

The winner of the inaugural Eurovision – Australia Decides Kate Miller-Heidke will return to the stage where it all began to perform Zero Gravity, while powerhouse vocalist and Eurovision 2016 runner up Dami Im will take to the stage with a brand new track.

In association with the Queensland Government via Tourism and Events Queensland, the City of Gold Coast, Screen Queensland, APRA AMCOS, Moroccanoil and accommodation partner QT Gold Coast, Eurovision – Australia Decides will be presented at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre on Friday 7 and Saturday 8 February and tickets for the Opening Night Show, Matinee Show are on sale, with limited tickets available to the Live TV Final.

Be a part of history and see it live at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre.

OPENING NIGHT SHOW       Friday 7 February, 7.30pm AEST (Not televised – tickets available)

Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre

Jury Vote

MATINEE SHOW                     Saturday 8 February, 1.00pm AEST (Not televised – tickets available)

Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre

LIVE TV FINAL                        Saturday 8 February, 7.30pm AEST (Live and Exclusive TV Broadcast on SBS – LIMITED TICKETS AVAILABLE)

Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre

Public Vote and Winner Announced

To purchase tickets: https://premier.ticketek.com.au/shows/show.aspx?sh=EUROVISI20

Eurovision – Australia Decides 2020 airs live and exclusively on SBS on Saturday 8 February.

Broadcast times across Australia:

NSW/VIC/TAS/ACT                8:30pm – 11:00pm       AEDT

QLD                                        7:30pm – 10:00pm      AEST

SA                                           8:00pm – 10:30pm      ACDT

WA                                          5:30pm – 8:00pm        AWST

NT                                           7:00pm – 9:30pm        ACST

Stay tuned to the SBS Eurovision website for updates: sbs.com.au/Eurovision 

#Eurovision #AusDecides

Here are the final 4 acts for 'Eurovision - Australia Decides' (and 1 of the songs, too!)
Australia, we've got our 10 contenders. Meet the final four acts who will take to the stage at Eurovision - Australia Decides on the Gold Coast in February.
Next two artists announced for ‘Eurovision – Australia Decides’ 2020
Montaigne and Didirri are the next two artists to participate in ‘Eurovision – Australia Decides’ in February 2020.
Two more acts revealed for ‘Eurovision – Australia Decides’ 2020
Mitch Tambo and iOTA are the next two artists to be taking the stage in ‘Eurovision – Australia Decides’ in February 2020.
First two artists revealed for ‘Eurovision – Australia Decides’ 2020
SBS and production partner Blink TV have today announced Vanessa Amorosi and Casey Donovan will compete in ‘Eurovision – Australia Decides’ in February 2020.