• The final three acts to be added to the 'Eurovision - Australia Decides' lineup: Alfie Arcuri, Ella Hooper, Tania Doko. (SBS Eurovision)Source: SBS Eurovision
Australia, the lineup of our first Eurovision national selection show is now complete.
Staff writers

18 Jan 2019 - 7:55 AM  UPDATED 18 Jan 2019 - 7:55 AM

SBS and production partner Blink TV today announced five new songs and the final three acts to compete in the first ever national selection show Eurovision – Australia Decides next month.

Hosted on the Gold Coast and broadcast live and exclusively on SBS on Saturday 9 February, Eurovision – Australia Decides will showcase some of Australia's biggest acts, singing original compositions, for their chance to represent the country at the Eurovision Song Contest 2019.

Rounding out a diverse line-up of artists from across the musical spectrum are: rock music icon Ella Hooper well-known and loved for her debut in rock-pop band Killing Heidi, bona fide Aussie pop legend Tania Doko best known for her success in ARIA award winning pop duo Bachelor Girl and The Voice winner Alfie Arcuri.

SBS can also reveal five more original compositions released today: Mark Vincent will sing This Is Not The End, a powerful song about facing obstacles with persistence and determination. Aydan’s song Dust is about young love and heartbreak, 16-year-old Leea Nanos’ song Set Me Free is about empowerment and letting go of self-doubt, while Alfie Arcuri’s To Myself questions how one could ever doubt their self-worth. Teased over New Year’s Eve, modern electric-soul duo Electric Fields’s song 2000 and Whatever is a brooding and joyous track about making the most of life, while legendary drag queen Courtney Act’s song Fight for Love was released last month. This leaves just four songs to be released from Sheppard, Kate Miller-Heidke, Tania Doko and Ella Hooper.

Alfie Arcuri 

“It’s an honour to be involved in a competition that celebrates and embraces music and diversity... and to take this journey alongside such amazing Australian talents is truly incredible! There’s always something special about the first - scary but exciting!”

Alfie will be performing: To Myself
(By Alfie Arcuri, Audius Mtawarira, Séb Mont)

Listen/download: https://AlfieArcuri.lnk.to/AlfieAcuriToMyself

Ella Hooper

“It’s very exciting to be involved in anything that is the first of its kind, and in recent years I have become more and more fascinated with Eurovision, so it’s perfect timing! I’m hoping to bring a bit of traditional rock ‘n’ roll energy to a bombastic performance of a meaningful pop song.”

Song yet to be announced 

Tania Doko

“This is one of those unplanned, didn’t-see-this-coming little chapter in my career I’m embracing with a sense of adventure and excitement. Then, as a songwriter performing a song I co-wrote, there’s the icing on the cake right there!”

Song yet to be announced  

Three more artists join 'Eurovision - Australia Decides'
Established artists and a fantastic new discovery join our stellar and diverse 'Eurovision - Australia Decides' lineup.
Here are the first 4 artists of 'Eurovision - Australia Decides'
Our first batch of performers reflect the diversity of Australian music.

Hosted by radio host and music buff Myf Warhurst, and comedian Joel Creasey, Eurovision – Australia Decides will showcase the best of Australian music and bring the nation closer to the Eurovision action.

In association with the Queensland Government via Tourism and Events Queensland and the City of Gold Coast, Eurovision – Australia Decides will be presented at the Gold Coast Convention Centre on Friday 8 and Saturday 9 February and tickets for the Jury Preview Show, Matinee Preview Show and Live TV Final are now on sale.

Be a part of history and see it live at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre.



Friday 8 February, 7.30pm AEST (Not televised)
Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre
National Jury Vote

Eurovision – Australia Decides: What happens at the Opening Night Show?
The premiere event in this party weekend has more riding on it than you might think.



Saturday 9 February, 1.00pm AEST (Not televised)
Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre


Saturday 9 February, 7.30pm AEST
Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre
Public Vote (Live and Exclusive TV Broadcast on SBS)


To purchase tickets: https://premier.ticketek.com.au/shows/Show.aspx?sh=EUROVISI19


Eurovision – Australia Decides airs Saturday 9 February live on SBS, when voting will be open to the public.

Broadcast times across Australia:

NSW/VIC/TAS/ACT                 8:30pm – 11:00pm       AEDT

QLD                                         7:30pm – 10:00pm       AEST

SA                                           8:00pm – 10:30pm       ACDT

WA                                          5:30pm – 8:00pm         AWST

NT                                           7:00pm – 9:30pm         ACST


'Eurovision - Australia Decides' song links 

Alfie Arcuri: To Myself

By Alfie Arcuri, Audius Mtawarira, Séb Mont



Aydan: Dust

By Aydan, Cam Bluff and Dylan Joel



Electric Fields: 2000 and Whatever

By Michael Ross and Zaachariaha Fielding



Leea Nanos: Set Me Free

By Leea Nanos and Frank Dixon



Mark Vincent: This Is Not The End

By Mark Vincent, Roberto De Sa and Isabella Kearney-Nurse



Courtney Act: Fight for Love

By Filly Adams, Sky Adams, Danny Shah and Shane Jenek



Stay tuned to the SBS Eurovision website for updates sbs.com.au/eurovision


#Eurovision #AusDecides