Australia joins Trans-Pacific Partnership

Scott Morrison says Australia has ratified the Trans-Pacific Partnership. (AAP)

Australia has become the sixth country to ratify the Trans-Pacific Partnership trade deal, the federal government has confirmed.

Australia has officially joined a massive trade deal that the federal government says will deliver a windfall to farmers and businesses.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison has confirmed Australia ratified the Trans-Pacific Partnership on Wednesday, making it the sixth country to come on board.

The step means the TPP will come into effect on December 30.

The deal strips 98 per cent of tariffs for 11 countries with a combined GDP of more than $13.8 trillion and close to 500 million consumers.

Australia is forecast to get annual economic benefits of up to $15.6 billion from the deal by 2030.

Legislation enabling Australia to join the TPP cleared parliament earlier this month, after the pact was signed in March.

Australia follows Canada, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand and Singapore in ratifying the TPP, which also involves Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Malaysia, Peru and Vietnam.

Labor backed the legislation for the TPP despite raising concerns it needed stronger labour market testing and could allow foreign companies to sue the government.

The opposition was forced to defend its support for the agreement, which sparked internal tensions and angered the union movement.

Stay up to date with SBS NEWS

  • App
  • Subscribe
  • Follow
  • Listen
  • Watch