These seven Australian communities have picked the winner at every election


EXCLUSIVE: A new SBS interactive graphic lets users see how individual polling stations have voted in Australia's federal election since 1996.

Will Australia's "bellwether" communities be right again?

Since 1996, there have been seven communities where at least two polling stations have voted with the winning party at every federal election.

They are spread across the country, in very different locations.

Both near the coast and just north of Sydney, there's Kincumber-Picketts Valley and Valentine-Eleebana.

Dotted around Melbourne are Mentone, Mount Waverly and Blackburn.

Then there are Warradale in Adelaide and Pioneer Valley near Mackay, Queensland.

The one common running thread through the seven communities is their average income is close to the national average, which at the 2016 census was $46,854.

People cast their votes.
People cast their votes.

It is just one finding from SBS's new interactive election map, which takes a look at every polling place in Australia and how people have voted. 

The Australia Electoral Commission provides data for the last eight elections going back to 1996 and SBS has crunched the numbers.

Fifty predictive polling stations

According to the analysis, there are around 50 polling stations that have picked each winner since 1996.

And while most are very scattered, there is a cluster of 13 polling stations around Melbourne's east, with most located in the hotly contested marginal seat of Chisholm, held by the Liberals by 2.9 per cent.

Melbourne's "bellwether" polling places.
Melbourne's "bellwether" polling places.

How Sydney votes

It's easiest to see political support where Australia's population is the densest - in our two largest cities.

In Sydney, you can see the Labor red stripe running from east to west right through the middle of the city.

The dominance of the Liberal party on the North Shore is evident in blue - and for the sharp-eyed reader, where red and blue meet is where we find the marginal seats of Banks and Reid.

Labor's red "stripe" is in Sydney.
Labor's red "stripe" is in Sydney.

How Melbourne votes

In Melbourne, it's a Liberal party blue band - running from Sandringham in the south, up through Kooyong and Hawthorn, and then out through Doncaster to Croydon and Katrina.

Labor dominates in the northern and western parts of the city.

And if you look closely you can see a marginal row of electorates - Isaacs, Hotham and Chisholm - separating the blue swish of the Liberal party and the Labor stronghold around Dandenong.

The 2016 result in Melbourne.
The 2016 result in Melbourne.

The major parties still dominate most areas, but there is hope for other parties and independents.

Andrew Wilkie has had great success in Hobart and the Greens candidate in Melbourne Adam Bandt has transformed how the area votes. 

Melbourne in 2004 versus 2016.
Melbourne in 2004 versus 2016.

Check out the interactive below or via this link to see how your community votes.

Stay up to date with SBS NEWS

  • App
  • Subscribe
  • Follow
  • Listen
  • Watch