• The votes are in for the First Peoples' Assembly of Victoria (Bertrand Tungandame)Source: Bertrand Tungandame
The Victoria Treaty process continues down the pathway towards a historic agreement with today's announcement of the 21 members elected to the First Peoples Assembly.
Madeline Hayman-Reber

4 Nov 2019 - 9:48 PM  UPDATED 4 Nov 2019 - 9:48 PM

Provisionally elected representatives of The Victorian Treaty Advancement Commission announced the elected representatives of the First Peoples Assembly on Monday as the state continues down the pathway to a historic agreement with its First People.

In an official media release, the Commission said that it congratulated every candidate.

"Over 70 Traditional Owners put their hand up across the state. They are all leaders. They have much to contribute as the journey continues," the statement said.

The elected members will meet on December 10 and 11 in Victorian Parliament’s Upper House chamber, which will be modified to reflect the cultural business taking place.

The meeting will involve the 32 elected representatives - 21 through voting, and 11 others who will take up the reserved seats, who will be chosen by Registered Aboriginal Parties.

Together they will elect a chair, or co-chairs, and an executive of The Assembly. Representatives will also be invited to make their first speeches. Those community members unable to attend can watch it take place via live stream.

The provisionally elected members are (in alphabetical order):

Esmerelda Glenda Bamblett
Muriel Pauline Bamblett
Rueben Berg
Carolyn Briggs
Matthew Burns
Tracey Evans
Trevor John Gallagher
Ngarra Murray
Alister Thorpe

South West
Sissy Austin
Michael (Mookeye) Bell
Jordan Edwards

North West
Jacinta Chaplin
Raylene Ivy Harradine
Jason Kelly

North East
Geraldine Atkinson
Natarsha Bamblett
Leanne Miller

South East
Peter Hood
Alice Ann Pepper
Kaylene Williamson

Victoria's First Peoples' Assembly to meet at 'colonial power structure'
Organisers say the inaugural gathering will mark a step towards 'true justice' at the centre of power in the state.